One Less Decision

I’ve received several emails now regarding how I manage my time.  How do I juggle life as a graduate student, Christ follower, blogger, cook, recipe hunter, self-taught photog, yogi (self-proclaimed), wife, friend, etc?  Someone described me as a superwoman, and I gotta admit, I was extremely flattered by this bc a superwoman, I am not!  Yes, my days are hectic for the most part, but whose aren’t these days?  What works for me is to come up with a game plan at the start of each day.  I used to plan out the whole week in advance, and what a disaster that was!  My anxiety and stress levels were out of control!  I felt as though I was constantly living for the future, obsessing over every activity before it even happened.  Of course, you never know what tomorrow holds.  Just as it is written in the Bible, “therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own.”  Matthew 6:34.

As a creature of habit, my mornings start out like this: I wake up sometime between 5 and 5:30 everyday (thank you, internal body clock).  While I nurse my coffee, I jot down everything I must accomplish that day as well as a few “maybes”, just in case I have some spare time ;).  I try not to be overambitious, making every effort to keep the list concise and reasonable.  I don’t deviate much from the list.

Sundays and Mondays are my most predictable days: Sunday = church, meal prep, and unwinding (hello, TV!); Monday = my “nerdiest” day, since I’m in class for the most part (7 hours to be exact).

IMG_0865

My list for today…

My commute to school is a lil more than an hour each way.  Initially, I was absolutely appalled by this.  But now, I find myself looking forward to this rare alone time.  On my bday, Tim offered to be my chauffeur for the day to which I politely responded…”no, thank you.”  This is when I converse with God, reflect on what’s been going on in my life, think about what I want to cook….and listen to podcasts.  Lately, I’ve been listening to a lot of episodes on health and nutrition through iTunesU, especially the ones from Cornell University.  Last week, I listened to a wonderfully enlightening episode titled “Mindless Eating.”  Several years too late.  I highly recommend you to listen to it if you haven’t already!

The speaker had some great take-away messages, one of which resonated with me.  Perhaps it will for you as well.

We should switch out all of our plates, bowls, and utensils to smaller ones and get tall thin cups rather than short and chubby ones.  Yes, I’m fully aware that the size of the plate influences how much we consume.  The bigger the plate, the higher the caloric intake.  So why don’t we get rid of these stumbling blocks?  I don’t know about you, but when I open up my cabinet, it is filled with large sized plates.  We don’t bring junk food into the house when trying to shed some pounds, so then why do we insist on using large plates for our meals?  I like how the speaker put it.  It’s because we believe that something as silly as the size of a bowl cannot possibly be more intelligent than us, that we are smart enough to portion properly even when using larger plates.

plates-m

However, experimental studies performed on “informed” people showed that despite being given a lecture about the effect of the size of bowl on food consumption, when given a larger bowl, they ended up consuming way more than the people who were given a smaller one.  So you think that this won’t happen to you?  That you will have more will-power and self-control?  Perhaps.  But we are already overwhelmed by hundreds of decisions that must be made each day (just bfast alone, more than 10 decisions are made: which cereal? how much to pour? add sugar? add fruit?…) and tasks that we have to get done.  Thus, getting rid of the larger, Texas-sized bowls, plates, utensils, etc will just make your life simpler.  No need to think or remind ourselves “don’t overpour, over serve…”  You know what’s on my to-do list for today.

Perhaps I should downsize Kona’s bowl, too.  He’s getting a bit…chunky these days.  I’m prolly pouring a lot more than I should.  In the meanwhile, we shall frolic outside together…

PicMonkey Collage1

We absolutely LOVE seeing his ears flop around as he runs;)!

Now, I’m off to tackle another “nerdy” Monday!  Hope you have a Marvelous day.

Thank you, Katie, for the weekly link-up ;).

This entry was posted in Kona, MIMM, Nutrition-related, RD2be and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to One Less Decision

  1. kona is so adorableeeee! We finally got Harleyybear the shnazuer cut and i’m in love! (: miss you lady!

  2. I try to be very conscious of my plate sizes, but I don’t think I would get rid of them. Good for your for taking that step!

  3. Cute! I think I might just use smaller plates in the future! omg. I should really start cutting down on what I eat!! Ok starting this week. I resolve to eat more healthily, smaller portions and exercise more!! have a great monday min!

  4. I love to do list – I often obsesses and plan out things but lately, I am trying to let it go..i think smaller plate makes a lot of difference in my portion size. Have a great week Min XOXO

  5. Linz says:

    you’ve got it all, girl!! 🙂 🙂 i def prioritize with what’s important, what needs to get done NOW, what do i want/need to do for my own sanity (haha), and things that can wait – life is busy!!!

  6. I love this post, and your dog is too cute!!!

  7. This is full of useful tips Min – thank you! I still plan ahead waaay too much. I like the idea of just doing a To Do list for one day, not the whole week 😛

  8. I am such a planner too- at the risk of sounding like a nerd, I LOVE ticking tasks off my list as I go along ;)! And smaller plates/cutlery definitely help me regulate my portion size…crazy how much of eating is psychological! Hope revision is going well, Min – you got this :)!

  9. Melanie says:

    I love this post! I also love that you wake up at 5-5:30! That is amazing. I am not a morning person, so I don’t wake up any earlier than I have to, lol. I love your “to do” list every day too. I think it would help to keep things manageable. You are so organized and have so inspired me! Thanks….and your sweet little doggie is adorable. 😉

  10. Great ideas, Min! I love seeing the picture of your journal with the two colored pens and your cup of coffee 🙂 I just started journaling more regularly, and it’s really very therapeutic. It’s great that you set achievable goals. I make daily to-do lists (I’m such a list-maker!), and I don’t beat myself up if things get transferred from today to tomorrow and so on, as long as it’s not absolutely essential.

    I love Kona’s ears in that picture, he looks like he’s flying!! Hope you’re having a great day, Min 🙂

Leave a Reply

