Kamut Margherita Salad

I love simplicity.  More accurately, I have grown to love simplicity.  During my adolescent years, I gravitated towards anything loud and extravagant – my attempt at trying to cover up my timid, awkward self.  Oh those fun years of struggling to find self-worth..I don’t miss them one bit.  I definitely believed that more meant better.  I would spend hours caking on makeup, purchasing the most complex gadgets, etc.  However, as I age and have become more comfortable in my own skin, I’ve come to appreciate the elegance and beauty in simplicity.  Underneath its plain surface lurks a subtle sophistication that is oh so lovely.  This appreciation stretched to food preferences as well.

For instance, my favorite pizza growing up was the one that came with the works.  Ironic, considering I picked off most of the toppings and really just tackled the cheese and the crust.  Margherita style is now my pizza of choice.  The recipe couldn’t be simpler – basil, tomatoes, fresh mozzarella, olive oil, and voila!  Simplicity at its finest.  Of course, the pizza crust plays an extremely crucial role, but I won’t get into that right now (I’ve been told I’m quite the pizza crust nazi).  A couple of weeks ago, my father-in-law wanted to go out for some pizza.  As he is going through chemotherapy right now, we jump at any opportunity to find something he may actually enjoy eating.  We went to California Pizza Kitchen and ordered several varieties, including, yup you guessed it, margherita pizza.  Ever since then, I’ve been craving it nonstop.

Fastforward a week.  While wandering around the grocery store (this is very rare since I normally go with a game plan – in and out in less than 30 min), I found fresh mozzarella.  It was the last one on the shelf, and I could not possibly allow for it to get in the hands of a stranger.  Into the cart it went.  Muhahaha.  Unfortunately, the excitement clouded my thought process.  I came home and realized I was missing tomatoes and pizza dough.  I turned to my well-stocked pantry (yes, I’m bragging as I take extreme pride in it) for some inspiration.  In no time, I was inhaling a bowl of what I’d like to call kamut margherita salad.  

IMG_9442-3blog

Ingredients

  • 1 cup kamut (or other whole grain..e.g farro, wheatberry)
  • 3 bocconcini (small fresh mozzarella balls), sliced
  • 3/4 cup chickpeas
  • 10 pieces of sun-dried tomatoes packed in oil, sliced
  • Basil, torn into pieces
  • 3 Tbs Balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp EVOO
  • 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • salt and pepper to season

Directions

  1. Add 3 parts water to 1 part kamut.  Bring it to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer until tender, approx 45 min to an hour.
  2. When the grain’s almost done cooking, start prepping the rest of the ingredients.  Stir together balsamic vinegar, EVOO, dijon mustard, salt and pepper.  Set aside.  Tear the basil leaves.  Slice the cheese and sun-dried tomatoes.
  3. In a medium bowl, combine everything together.  Serve.

You can enjoy it all by itself or serve alongside fish, chicken, pork, etc.  I stirred in some rotisserie chicken the next day to take to school, and it was delish!

IMG_9395

Have you heard of kamut before?  It’s a type of wheatberry and is twice the size of an average wheat kernel.  I was pleasantly surprised by its  buttery, nutty, and subtly sweet flavor.  Out of all the grains I’ve tried so far, this one has the most chew.  It is rich in protein (7g/serving) and is a great source of selenium, zinc, magnesium, and iron.  

It does take a long time to cook (approx 45 min to an hour) so to speed things up, I highly recommend you to soak it overnight.  What I like to do is to cook a huge batch on Sunday and freeze in small portions to enjoy when the going gets tough ;).

PicMonkey Collage

PicMonkey Collage1

IMG_9436-2blog

So what do you think?  Simple yet lovely, right?  I’m in love with these golden, nutrient-dense kernels.  Their intense “pop” is unmistakeable.  Give this grain a try!  And once again, a big thank you to Bob’s Red Mill for sending me this product!

This entry was posted in Food, Nutrition-related, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Kamut Margherita Salad

  1. Interesting Min! I’ve never heard of Kamut in my life! Kinda looks like rice 🙂 And this seems like a really cute alternative to pizza! Fresh mozzarella cheese & tomatoes & grains!! you did it again! I still have to try making barley salad!

    • Min says:

      It does look rice but much bigger! Tim’s first remark -“Wow. That looks…intense.” haha. You MUST try both salads 😉

  2. This looks awesome! Basil and sun dried tomatoes are some of my favorite ingredients! Love this!

  3. Beautiful! And simple, and healthy, and easy to make!

    KAMUT® Brand khorasan is an organic, non-genetically modified, ancient wheat variety similar to durum. In 1990, “KAMUT” was registered as a trademark by the Quinn family in order to support organic farming and preserve the ancient khorsasan wheat variety. Under the KAMUT® Brand name, khorasan wheat must always be grown organically, never be hybridized or modified, and contain high levels of purity and nutrition. Today, Kamut International owns and has registered the KAMUT® trademark in over 40 countries, and is responsible for protection and marketing of all KAMUT® Brand khorasan wheat throughout the world.
    KAMUT® wheat is grown on dryland certified organic farms primarily in Montana, Alberta, and Saskatchewan. The grain is prized by consumers who appreciate the grain for its high energy nutrition, easy digestibility, nutty/buttery taste, and firm texture. KAMUT® khorasan wheat is higher in protein, selenium, amino acids, and Vitamin E than most modern wheat and contains essential minerals such as magnesium and zinc. It is used as whole grain berries, whole grain flour, white flour, flakes, and puffs to make a variety of products. Some specific benefits of using KAMUT® khorasan are receiving more nutrients, protein, and taste than most commonly consumed whole wheat – plus supporting organic agriculture and helping to preserve an ancient grain.

    Please let me know if you have questions about the grain or products made with the grain – I love to hear from bloggers!

    My kind regards – JamieJamie Ryan Lockman | Regional Director – North America

    Kamut International, Ltd.
    P.O. Box 4903 | Missoula, MT 59806 | USA
    406.251.9418 phone | 406.251.9420 fax
    jamie.lockman@kamut.com | http://www.kamut.com

  4. Ooh, can’t wait to try kamut for the first time!! Someone just gave me farro recently, so I will try this out with that first, until I can get my hands on some kamut 🙂 I love this series on whole grains, Min…you make healthy eating look absolutely delicious! So good to talk to you today, love you 🙂

    • Min says:

      It sure was great to hear your voice! Ooh, I’m so excited for you to try some of these “exotic” grains! Tim was a bit hesitant and demanded his quinoa or rice, but now he is on board with my mission to try all the whole grains out there ;). Let me know how you like farro!

  5. This kamut salad is absolutely gorgeous! And not only that, the flavors and textures sound like they come together beautifully, too. I’d love to try this with a gluten free grain–perhaps quinoa or brown rice? Like you, I have a soft spot for fresh cheeses, especially mozzarella and goat, so I don’t blame you for rescuing the last container from the supermarket! 😉

    Oh, Min, my heart broke when I read about your father in law. I am praying that he will be showered with healing, comfort, and love during this struggle. I’ll be keeping you and your family in my thoughts as prayers as well; I can only imagine how worrisome this must be for you all. If you ever want to talk, I’m here. Please don’t hesitate to reach out. ❤ Sending lots of love and huge hugs your way! ❤ xoxoxo

    • Min says:

      Of course. You can def substitute with other grains. Fresh cheese…mmm….However, I will say that I’m not a huge fan of goat cheese for some reason. Perhaps I just need to keep trying. Thank you so much for your much needed prayers, my sweet friend. This can’t be the end for him..he still has so much to do here on this earth..

  6. i like kick’in salad like yours….
    easy, healty and yet tasty……
    btw, don’t you think that pearl barley can substitude the kamut?

    • Min says:

      Yes you can! However, try to look for hull-less barley since pearl barley is not a whole grain. Why not choose a more nutrient-dense option? 😉

  7. margherita also happens to be my fav and I totally agree with you on simplicity 🙂 Never tried Kamut- another grain on the list to try. Thanks Min

Leave a Reply

