Lemongrass Salmon with Barley Salad

First of all, thank you so much for the warm welcome in regards to Tim’s post.  I think he is secretly bubbling inside with joy and is thrilled to be a part of Savor the Rainbow.  I’m just excited to read his lovely writing ;).  It’s quite a treat.

This week is a bit unusual as we both took time off in order to head down to Houston first thing tomorrow morning.  Tim drives.  I sleep.  I’m so thoughtful this way ;).  My sister-in-law is getting married on Thursday, and we couldn’t be more ecstatic.  Oh, and a bonus is that she’s getting married at the same location where we said our “I do’s” 6 years ago!  I wonder how much the place has changed.  I have an inkling that I’ll shed a tear…or two.  No floodgates this time.  And of course, this weekend is Easter so I plan on fasting from all things technology to reflect on all that Jesus, my Savior, has done for me and rejoice in his resurrection.  I hope you have a blessed weekend!

A week away from home means it’s fridge clean-up time.  Tim, knows exactly when this time comes around as the same cast of characters start to appear over and over again in “different” dishes – my effort to empty the refrigerator crisper with the quickness.  I do a fine job at that.  However, these “creations” are not ones that scream out “take a picture!”.  Cleaning out the fridge = I’m getting ready for a trip = I don’t have time to address the “you eat with your eyes” aspect of the culinary arts.

However, yesterday was wayyy out of the norm.  To Tim’s surprise,  I presented him with a “well thought out” meal that was visually appealing as well.  I like to throw a curve ball every now and then to spice things up ;).  The mission, however, remained the same – no produce gets left behind.  These are what I had on hand – lemongrass, ginger, green onion, broccoli, and cherry tomatoes.  And this was their fate…

IMG_9299blog

Lemongrass Salmon

Adapted from Woman and Home

Ingredients:

  • 4 salmon fillets
  • 2 lemongrass stalks, tough outer layer removed, stalks finely chopped
  • 2 Tbs low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 Tbs fish sauce
  • 1 Tbs rice vinegar
  • 2 Tbs green onion, chopped
  • 1 Tbs sweet chilli sauce
  • 1 Tbs lime juice

Directions:

  1. Combine lemongrass, ginger, soy sauce, fish sauce, rice vinegar, chilli sauce, lime juice, green onion.  Place the salmon fillets in a ziplock bag and pour the sauce in.  Marinate in the fridge for at least 2 hours or up to overnight.
  2. Grill.

PicMonkey Collage

PicMonkey Collage1

In continuation with my Whole Grains Series, I chose to pair the salmon with a refreshing barley salad.  I’ve been obsessed with barley lately and have been adding it to everything!  Hint hint…more recipes to come!

Be sure to look for hull-less barley rather than pearl barley.  “Pearled” essentially means that the bran has been scored or partially removed in order to allow for quicker cooking time and therefore is not a whole grain.  I love hull-less barley for its earthy yet sweet flavor and the chewy texture.  As for the yield, 1 cup raw = 2 2/3 cups cooked.  Hope you give this nutrient-dense whole grain a try!  It is sure to keep you full and satisfied.

I would like to take the time to thank Bob’s Red Mill for sending me this wonderful assortment of whole grains!  I can’t wait to try every single one of them!

PicMonkey Collage2

IMG_9272

Barley Salad in Asian Vinaigrette

Ingredients:

  • 1 tsp grated fresh ginger
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 2 tsp low-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tsp sesame oil
  • 1 1/2 tsp fish sauce
  • 2 Tbs lime
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • Any vegetables (I used cherry tomatoes, green onions, broccoli)

Directions:

  • Take 1 cup of barley and add it to 3 cups of water.  Cover the pot and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat and simmer for about 45 min-1 hour until the water has been absorbed.
  • Prep the veggies.  Combine sauce.  Serve.

IMG_9287-2blog

Question:

– Have you cooked with barley before?  What are your favorite ways to  enjoy it?

This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Lemongrass Salmon with Barley Salad

  1. Great that you left us this wonderful Barley Salad recipe before you left to attending your sis-in-law’s wedding! And the pictures look beautiful as well! Enjoy your Easter weekend dear!

  2. This looks so much better than the salmon I make 🙂 I looks so fresh and delicious! I can’t wait to try!!

  3. I hope you have a wonderful and safe trip, Min!! Big congratulations to your sister-in-law 🙂

    It’s the mark of a good cook when you can throw something so beautiful together with just what you have on hand 🙂 What a healthy and delicious looking meal!! I just had barley for the first time a couple of weeks ago and loved it!! I’ve never cooked with it before (had it at a restaurant), but I’m excited to give it a try. Thanks for the tip on the hull-less barley, I probably would have gone for the pearl barley!

    Hope you have a very blessed Easter weekend, friend 🙂

    • Min says:

      Hehe thanks dear ;). LIke I said, I actually tried this time…most of the time it’s dump and mix. You MUST give barley a try! Super easy to cook, and it’s such a versatile grain!
      Just say no to pearl barley ^^

  4. Have a great time in Houston 🙂 weddings are always so special. this meal looks so fancy and equally healthy!!! will look out for hull-less barley 🙂

  5. Have a great trip!

    And this salmon is just gorgeous! I may just have to make this for dinner tonight.

  6. This looks like an incredible way to serve salmon. Yum! You are almost converting me back to eating fish 😉

    Lots of well wishes for the wedding and wishing you a very, very happy Easter.

  7. what a healty and tasty dish,
    asian touch salmon is beautifully paired with vibrant coloured barley salad….
    never had hull less barley instead of pearl, i think i’m prefer the barley since it quite tough to cook (mine need about 2hours) and no need for more fibers though……
    i pefer fibers from the veggies

    • Min says:

      I understand. These whole grains do take a bit longer to cook. Barley usually takes about 50 min to an hour to cook. I find that cooking time shortens if you presoak it. Fibers from the veggies are excellent too! But don’t forget all the other nutrients that are contained in the whole grains 😉

  8. Karen says:

    What a nice looking and sounding meal. I made a barley soup last night and mentioned that I wanted to make a salad next as my husband really enjoys barley.

    • Min says:

      Yum! I LOVE barley soup! Do you have the recipe on your blog? I will have to check it out ;). My husband has opened up to barley and enjoys eating it now. Yay!!

  9. This looks amazing friend!! I want to come over for dinner!! I absolutely love salmon.

  10. this salmon looks so delicious! Great job!

  11. Pingback: Weekly Menu Plan - WTCW #96 - Just Us Four

  12. Pingback: Mediterranean-Inspired Barley Salad | Cooking up a Storm, Dish by Dish :: Felicia Lim

Leave a Reply

