Creamy Hamburger Bulgur Casserole

This past week was one of the toughest weeks I’ve ever had to face both emotionally and physically.  Seeing a loved one battling cancer is not only heart-wrenching, but it also puts into perspective how fragile we truly are.  There are no guarantees in this life, and I’m now determined more than ever to live everyday to the fullest (and I really mean it this time ;)) walking with the Lord.

Despite this sad, uncertain time, I’m so thankful that God has granted me yet another day.

Thank you, Katie, for the link up – Marvelous In My Monday.

Today, I want to share with you the amazing package I received two weeks ago (I’m a bit behind in posting) from one Marvelous company, Chobani!  They sure are generous, aren’t they?!

PicMonkey Collage

I had tried all the flavors except for the Vanilla Chocolate Chunk so I was especially excited to try it!  The verdict?  It makes for a perfect, spoon-licking guiltless pleasure ;).  You can certainly enjoy Chobani as is or incorporate into both savory and sweet recipes to make them not only healthier but tastier.  Check out Chobani Kitchen for recipes, videos, a conversion chart, coupons, hometown happenings, and much more.  You are sure to find some inspiration!

Sometime last week, I looked the plain, non-fat yogurt container in the eye and decided to get playful.  Both Tim and I were in desperate need of some comfort food, more specifically some sort of casserole.  As I frantically searched through my what’s-supposed-to-be a recipe box and various recipe sites, my eyes fixated on 3 words – Hamburger Noodle Casserole.  Jackpot!  I did not want to follow the original recipe as it called for butter and cream of mushroom soup (not to mention the lack of vegetables).  So where would the creaminess come from?  Yup, you guessed it..Chobani.

IMG_9061blog

Creamy Hamburger Bulgur Casserole

Ingredients:

  • 1 Tbs EVOO
  • 1 Ib ground bison (or any ground lean meat)
  • 1 med zucchini, chopped
  • 1 med green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 med sweet potato, chopped
  • 2 Tbs garlic, minced
  • 2 Tbs tomato paste
  • Handfuls of baby kale (I didn’t measure..add as much as you desire)
  • 1 (8 oz) can tomato sauce
  • 3/4 cup bulgur (can substitute with any whole grains)
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 (10 oz) can Rotel (I used “lime and cilantro”)
  • 1 (6 oz) container Chobani
  • 1/8 tsp salt and pepper
  • 1 cup low-fat sharp cheddar cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.  Coat a 2 qt baking dish with cooking spray.  Set aside.
  2. Cook ground meat in a large pan.  Transfer to a dish and wipe down the pan.  Chop vegetables.  Coat the same pan with 1 Tbs EVOO and cook vegetables on med-high heat, approx 5-7 min.  Add garlic and tomato paste.  Add bulgur.  Mix well and cook until bulgur gets slightly toasted and the veggies are softened, approx 3-5 min.
  3. Stir in baby kale, meat, water, tomato sauce, Rotel, and Chobani.  Bring to a simmer.  Cover and simmer until bulgur is tender and sauce is thickened, 15-20 min.  Season with 1/8 tsp salt and pepper.  Stir in cheese at the end.  Transfer to the baking dish.
  4. Bake until browned and cheese is bubbly, about 30-40 min.  Let stand for 10 minutes before serving.  Enjoy!

PicMonkey Collage1

IMG_8948

As you may know, I am on a mission to try a variety of whole grains (hello, whole grain series).  Originally I had planned on using farro for this recipe, but to my disappointment, I couldn’t get my hands on any.  I went to Whole Foods, Sprouts, HEB…nothing.  I did find whole grain quick cooking bulgur, however, which is in the same wheat berry family.  Bulgur is basically parboiled wheat berries that are dried and ground.

PicMonkey Collage2

PicMonkey Collage3

PicMonkey Collage4

PicMonkey Collage5

IMG_9040blog

IMG_9075blog

A bowl of this warm, spicy, sweet, earthy, meaty…(yup there’s a lot going on in this dish) comforted us.  I’m thinking next time, I may add some red wheat berries along with bulgur for a more toothsome texture.  Tim was a bit scared when he saw me dumping in the whole container of Chobani into the pot, but he was quite happy with the end product ;).  Hope you give this one a try and feel free to substitute with other vegetables and whole grains.

This entry was posted in Food, MIMM, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Creamy Hamburger Bulgur Casserole

  1. I’m so sorry to hear you are going through a hard time Min, I know what it’s like to watch some fight battle cancer and it’s heart wrenching. I’ll definitely keep you and your loved ones in my prayers! Thanks for sharing this wonderful meal, I love Chobani yogurt but have yet to add it to a main entree like this 🙂 I’ll definitely give it a try! Have a wonderful week dear

  2. What an awesome package to get from chobani!! SWEET!!! I love those chobani peeps!

    I am sorry to hear about the family member, sending love and prayers ❤

  3. Hey Min,

    I know how hard it is to watch a loved one fighting a disease or cancer… and like you said, it gets physically and emotionally draining, but “the joy of the Lord is our strength” and one of those verses that I always hold onto is Jer 29:11 “For I know the thoughts that I think towards you says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope”.

    Stay strong dear! Prayers work wonders – and there is always a reason for something!

    Glad you managed to get some comfort in this bulgur casserole! looks yummy, especially now that summer is ending and autumn will usher in cooler days meant to be huddled over warm casseroles and hot soups. Take care!!

    love,
    felicia

  4. slimsanity says:

    I’ve never cooked with bulgar before! this looks really good 🙂

  5. I am so sorry about it Min…hope God gives you and your family all the strength during this tough time. And like you said- nothing is certain and I have tried to be mindful of my beautiful life and be grateful for every little things. Yay chobani for sending this and im glad you were able to turn into a comforting yet healthy meals. Take Care friend.

  6. Yum! I make something similar, but I think yours looks better 🙂

  7. sale artwork says:

    With so many songs out there, you may find it
    difficult to know what to select for your playlist.
    kill’ a zombie. People will be taking Darwin’s Theory to
    the next level and may even slay you just for supplies.

Leave a Reply

