Baked Stuffed Shrimp

I like to watch PBS from time to time.  And no, I’m not talking about Sesame Street ;).  One of my favorite shows is America’s Test Kitchen.  It’s very informative and seeing all the delicious food inspires me to get in the kitchen.  I just have to make sure to not get discouraged if my final product doesn’t look like theirs, which always appears to be perfect.  I’m sure they have plenty of people behind the scenes who get paid to make the food look the way that it does.  I also like to listen to their podcast to keep myself entertained during my long commute to and from school.  I recently subscribed to Cook’s Country and am excited to try all the heavily scrutinized recipes.

Today I want to share with you their Baked Stuffed Shrimp recipe, which I tweaked a little.  I was not a picky eater growing up, except when it came to seafood, more specifically the menacing-looking crustaceans.  It’s not the taste I have issues with.  I just don’t do exoskeletons…. don’t want to see, touch, or have anything to do with them.  To this day, my dad or Tim has to peel the shells for me.  Yes, I am quite the princess, aren’t I?  I need to get over this incompetency…but I kinda enjoy this pampering ;).

For some reason, I find seafood to be extremely intimidating to cook at home.  I normally purchase a fillet of fish that’s been pre-cleaned, season with salt and pepper, and grill or sauté it.  However, I’m making a brave effort to venture out and discover different ways to prepare seafood at home.  That’s why this recipe spoke to me, and boy am I glad that I tried it.  It was so simple to make and took no time at all!  Plus, the presentation was so stunning and clever.  Don’t they look fun to eat ;).

IMG_7683-3

Baked Stuffed Shrimp

adapted from Cook’s Country

Ingredients

  • 4 slices whole wheat bread
  • 1/2 cup Greek Yogurt (I used Chobani)
  • 1/2 cup low-sodium chicken broth
  • 4 scallions, chopped fine
  • 1 Tbs garlic, minced
  • 2 tsp grated zest + 1 Tbs juice from one lemon
  • 1 Tbs dijon mustard
  • 1/2 tsp cajun seasoning
  • 1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 1/4 Ib colossal shrimp, peeled and deveined  *

* U10-14 are preferred.  My store only had U16-20, which still worked fine.  However, the bigger they are the easier it will be to stuff them.

Directions

  1. Adjust oven rack to upper-middle position and heat oven to 375 F.  Pulse bread in food processor to coarse crumbs.  Transfer to baking pan and bake until golden and dry, approx 8-10 min, stirring halfway.  Remove pan and lower the oven temp to 275 F.
  2. Combine all the ingredients except the shrimp in a large bowl.
  3. Pat shrimp dry with paper towels.  Grease empty broiler pan bottom.     Butterfly and cut hole through center of each shrimp.  Arrange cut-side down on prepared pan.  Divide bread crumb mixture among shrimp, pressing to adhere.  Bake until shrimp are opaque, 20-25 min.
  4. Remove shrimp from oven and heat broiler.  Broil shrimp until crumbs are golden deep brown, 1-3 min.  Serve.

bread

Pulse bread in a processor to coarse crumbs.  Bake at 375F for approx 8-10 min, or until golden brown.stuffing

Combine all the ingredients in a bowl.

shrimp

shrimp2

Use a sharp pairing knife to cut along the vein line (butterfly) and to cut a hole through the center.  Arrange cut-side down on prepared pan.

Notice the monstrous yet shockingly nimble fingers?  I gave Tim the honor of cleaning and preparing the shrimp.  You know why ;).  I supervised from afar.

After Tim was done with the shrimp, I stuffed them.  Teamwork, baby!

IMG_7649

Into the oven they go…

IMG_7683

These were so good!  Tim doesn’t like Greek yogurt, so I was afraid that he wouldn’t really care for them much.  I braced myself for his reaction and thought I’d at least gain some brownie points for the presentation.  However, to my surprise, he really liked them!  The shrimp were not rubbery, and the stuffing was creamy, savory, and had a zesty kick.

As compared to when I started this blog back in May, you may notice a significant difference in my photos…or so I hope.  This is because I’ve been reading a plethora of resources out there regarding food photography.  I’m continuously pinning helpful reads on my Pinterest board.  As far as composition goes, perusing through Foodgawker and Healthyaperture really gives me a lot of inspiration and ideas.  I am continuously mesmerized by all the talent out there.  Aside from all the research, the most important component is practice!  Practice makes perfect, and I’ve been snapping away whenever I get some down time.

I’ve noticed that my photos all tend to look very similar to one another bc I always shoot under the same conditions… same placement, angle, settings, light, etc.  I want to expand my repertoire and keep things interesting and unique, so to speak.  Right now, I’m learning to shoot darker and moodier images for more dramatic effect.  This is my first attempt…What d’ya think?

IMG_7698

I still have a lot to learn, and I am enjoying every second of it ;).  Practice!  Practice!  Practice!

Question:

– What’s your favorite seafood?  How do you normally prepare it?

– If you like to take pictures of food, do you have any helpful tips or advice for me?  Let’s bounce ideas off of one another ;).

This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Baked Stuffed Shrimp

  1. Leah says:

    These look amazing – so fancy! I love that the ingredients are fairly simple though. They sound delicious and I can’t wait to give these a try. Great job with the photography too. I admire all of your shots!

  2. Chobani says:

    These look wonderful! Love the darker photo below…nice work. 🙂 Consider this recipe pinned! Totally craving it and trying to figure out when we have time to make this delicious dish.

    Amy
    @Chobani

  3. Beautiful! and what a great fun idea to serve at a party! I’ve never cooked with shrimp before and now this is an excuse to try it! 🙂

    And i like that Tim peels your prawns & seafood for you, and that he helped you prepare this dish! 🙂 Thumbs up!

  4. Cinnamon says:

    I love your photos and as I am taking this leap into learning more about photography I love hearing about resources etc…I love your “moody shrimp” good job!
    Also, book recommendation for you…I just finished reading “Not a Fan” by Kyle Idleman….you should check it out. You will be blown away!

  5. um this is the most delicious thing I ever saw! please make it when I come and visit! (:

  6. WOOOOOOOW Those looks a-mazing!!!! Hey- IDK if you saw this or not, but you won my giveaway!! Please send me ur contact info asap to savorlifesflavors@gmail.com. Congrats!

  7. CaligirlSM says:

    This looks so good! I love shrimp, so I need to try this. Your photos look great!

  8. Your food (both the pictures and the ingredients) always look so amazing! Please come cook for me 🙂

  9. Kym says:

    That looks great! I love shrimp and just seafood in general but i wish shrimp wasn’t so expensive here! Thankfully though we live by a wharf so in the summer all the fishermen come out and sell their catch of the day for a good price! My husband and I cook a lot of fish, it’s usually just really simple – pan fried with a bit of seasoning. 🙂 That’s what I love about fish, you don’t need to do much to it!

  10. Those stuffed shrimp look almost too pretty to eat, Min!! I love the dark background in your last shot, it definitely transforms the whole feel of the picture. You definitely have a gift for photography and food styling! I try to pay attention to lighting, and am just starting to think more about taking a picture as a “scene” as opposed to just a close up of the food, but am going in baby steps 🙂

    I watch PBS quite a bit actually. Malia likes a lot of the kids shows, including Sesame Street, although her favorites are Caillou and Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood 🙂 I love PBS for Downton Abbey, have you gotten into that series at all?? I think you would like it!!

  11. These look so professional! And whilst I’ve never heard of PBS, I think I’d like that test kitchen show 🙂 It sounds like you could get lots of fun ideas from it.

  12. juliaroastedroot says:

    Girl, this shrimp is over the top delicious! I adore seafood and your recipe looks so healthful with the Greek yogurt instead of mayo and so full of flavor! Your detailed how-to photos will surely help me make these killer shrimp next time we do appetizers! Deeeelicious!

  13. bitesizedjessica says:

    Yum these look delicious and so BiteSized!

Leave a Reply

