From Our House to Yours – Homemade Dumplings!

I can’t believe it’s the day before Thanksgiving!!!  Hope your gameplan for the feast is under control!  As for our family, since all of us are scattered about, it’s going to be a small, cozy gathering.  Anyway, Thanksgiving can wait another day because today is….The Recipe Redux reveal day!!!  I look forward to this day so much, I kid you not.  Not only is it so much fun thinking of and cooking different recipes according to the monthly theme, but it’s so amazing to be in the presence of such a talented and extremely supportive group.  I hope to get to know more of my fellow reduxers in the times to come!

The theme for this month is “Vintage Side Dishes.” As the holiday season is upon us, bring on the numerous gatherings of family and friends centered around the most beloved family recipes and traditions.  I’m ready!  In my household, even the most perfectly glistening, juicy, roasted turkey hasn’t the slightest chance next to our traditional Korean fare (well…truthfully a turkey’s not even present most of the time).  Kimchi, dumplings, soy marinated beef, and savory pancakes are what take center stage.  Usually what happens is I cook some traditional American Thanksgiving side dishes (c’mon, what’s Thanksgiving without stuffing?!?!), and my mom completely overshadows my labors of love with her unforgettable and succulent Korean dishes.

That’s how my family rolls.  Now, on Tim’s side of the family, it’s a whole ‘nother story.  They LOVE their traditional Thanksgiving spread w/ turkey, stuffing, green bean casserole – the works.  And then there are these out of this world homemade dumplings.  Perfection.

The next day, they make their appearance again..dumpling soup!

I first posted this recipe when I had just started blogging, but Regan, Deana, and Serena were gracious enough to allow me to use it for this month’s theme.  Thank you, ladies.  So please check out the recipe here!

What is your favorite vintage side dish?

Are you ready for Thanksgiving?  I shall be in the kitchen most of the day today slaving away!  Hopefully I’ll be able to squeeze in some time to work on my paper, too!

I probably won’t be posting until after Thanksgiving, so I just want to say..Happy Thanksgiving!!  Hope you enjoy sharing a wonderful spread of heartwarming foods with your loved ones!  Delicious eats + fabulous company = what more could you ask for?



This entry was posted in Family, Food, Recipe Redux and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to From Our House to Yours – Homemade Dumplings!

  1. Mmm I love dumplings…growing up, they were a staple part of my family’s Sunday (either as part of lunch or dinner)! Like Tim’s family, I am a huge fan of the usual Thanksgiving spread! Although pumpkin pie is the traditional dessert, I have actually never tried it hence can’t say I love it. Therefore my “vintage” Thanksgiving dessert of choice would be a bowl of ice cream…simple yet perfect! Have a wonderful Thanksgiving, Min!

  2. carol says:

    First off, let me wish you and your family a happy Thanksgiving whether you are enjoying turkey and the works or delicious Korean fare. I made your dumplings and they are delicious – no two ways about it. Enjoy the holiday!

  3. wow those dumplings look so delicious! i have never made dumplings before! I hope you have a wonderful Thanksgiving! (:

  4. Linz says:

    Happy Thanksgiving!!

  5. These dumplings look good! Can’t wait to try it.

  6. Those dumplings look like total perfection! I’ve never attempted to make them, but maybe I’ll try my luck with your recipe. I think it’s pretty awesome that you get to combine Korean dishes with American dishes for your Thanksgiving dinner. I would love a little Kimchi next to my stuffing. 🙂
    Happy Thanksgiving Min.

  7. i am a dumpling fanatic and would eat it any time, anywhere. traditional turkey and other sides does not make my table either- its always whatever the family/friends wants- thanks for sharing this. have a great thanksgiving.

  8. Kym says:

    *droooool* dumplings. I love em any way – pan friend, steamed, in soup, love love love!

    When we have Canadian Thanksgiving, it’s usually turkey-less with mostly Filipino food! 😛 I love both traditional Thanksgiving spread and Asian thanksgiving. As for my favorite vintage side dish…. honestly, i can’t think of anything because i love SO MANY. haha!!!

    Happy thanksgiving Min + Tim!

  9. Have a WONDERFUL and restful Thanksgiving!!! Those dumplings look seriously mouthwatering. I want one… or several.. 🙂 I pray you have a refreshing holiday and lots of laughs, smiles and make some super happy memories!!

  10. These look delicious, Min! Both of our families have the traditional turkey, stuffing, green beans, sweet potato casserole, etc. I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving together!

  11. Oh wow, I’m envious of you getting both the traditional American and the deliciousness of Korean cuisine during your Thanksgiving celebration! And I must say, I’ve been awaiting this post ever since you told us you were featuring dumplings for this month’s ReDux. I’m inspired to give them a whirl at home!

  12. eatpraytri says:

    Happy Thanksgiving Min!! Hope you and your family have a great day!

  13. Those dumplings look SO yummy, Min! I hope today is a pleasurable time in the kitchen for you, and not too stressful!! I know your family will appreciate all your hard work tomorrow 🙂 Thinking of you and just wanted to say how thankful I am to have you as a friend!!

  14. Angela says:

    I would love it if you posted more Korean dishes! So unique and interesting!

  15. Serena says:

    I’m so glad you shared this great story AND the recipe for dumplings! They don’t look nearly as difficult as expected. I will totally try them! Happy Thanksgiving!

  16. Those dumplings look delicious! Wishing you a very happy Thanksgiving.

  17. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    Happy thanksgiving to you too 🙂 I hope you have a lovely day.

  18. EA Stewart says:

    I absolutely need to try my hand at making gluten-free dumplings in the new year. Your recipe looks delicious and love having leftovers for dumpling soup! Wishing you and your family the happiest of Thanksgivings!

Leave a Reply

