Tofu No-Meat Balls

So it’s the most dreaded time of the semester…midterm – 2 papers, 1 presentation, 3 exams within the next two weeks.  During this time, it seems as though there’s just not enough time in the day.  I apologize for being MIA, but every second counts!  While I know that I should be eating healthy, I find myself just mindlessly munching and snacking to keep my brain juices flowing.  Am I alone in this?  Can you relate?  Or am I just making excuses for eating junk?

Well, yesterday, as I felt my bottom growing heavier from being glued to a chair and my tummy feeling ever so bloated (and gassy…just keeping it real here), I said enough is enough!  It was time to take matters into my own hands and make some supercharged, healthful snacks.  And BAM!  That’s how these Tofu No-Meat Balls came to life.

Why tofu?  Why NOT tofu? 😉  As proteins are digested more slowly than carbohydrates and provide greater satiety, I always make sure that my snacks are a combination of both of these macronutrients.  While I could’ve used a meat protein, I needed something that would take less time to prepare.  Time is of the essence, my friends.

Therefore, the addition of tofu was perfect!  Not to mention its high protein content.  Furthermore, it’s lower in fat than other protein sources, contains no cholesterol, and provides a substantial amount of calcium.

I didn’t know how these balls were going to turn out, so I had no intention of submitting this recipe for the “How To…Tofu” challenge sponsored by The Soyfoods Council, but they were so incredibly tasty that I decided, why not?  This just goes to show you that there are absolutely no wrong ways to use tofu, and its applications are limitless.  Just let your imagination guide your hands and see what you end up with!

So without further ado, here’s the recipe….


Tofu No-Meat Balls

Print this recipe

Makes 10 no-meatballs

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 block of firm tofu
  • 1/4 cup zucchini, diced
  • 1/4 cup onions, diced
  • 1/4 cup bell pepper, diced
  • 1/4 cup black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 egg
  • 3 Tbs panko bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup cooked quinoa
  • 3 Tbs ketchup
  • 2 Tbs low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 Tsp sriracha
  • 1 Tsp fish sauce
  • 2 Tsp garlic, minced
  • Salt and pepper, season to taste *

* After combining the entire mixture together (prior to adding the egg), season to taste.

Directions:

  1. Wrap tofu in a kitchen towel.  Place weight on top to squeeze out all the water.  Let it stand for about 20 min.  With the side of knife, smush down the tofu to make it smooth. *
  2. In a bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients.
  3. Using a large ice cream scooper, scoop up and form tofu mixture tightly into a ball.  Place in a greased muffin pan.
  4. Bake at 375 F for 30 min.

* This is the most important step!  Tofu contains A LOT of water.  The biggest mistake you can make is not squeezing out as much water as you possibly can.  You don’t want a soggy mess that will fall apart.

So as you can see,  I just threw in things that I already had on hand and look at this golden beauty that I ended up with.  What did I tell you?  Tofu is a lovely and delightful ingredient to work with ;).  Between the tofu, quinoa, and black beans, this bite-sized and protein-packed snack is sure to keep you full and satisfied.  And with that, back to my cave studies I go…Wish me luck!



“By posting this recipe I am entering a recipe contest sponsored by The Soyfoods Council and am eligible to win prizes associated with the contest. I was not compensated for my time.”

This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Tofu No-Meat Balls

  1. Min, my dear!! How are you?! I’m so sorry I’ve been MIA too; school continues to be nuts, and I’ve finally accepted that it’s going to be that way until the end of the semester. It’s a rollercoaster ride, and I’m not sure I’m belted in. ;-p Haha.Thank goodness I have lovely friends’ blogs to visit when I need a break!

    I can *completely* relate to the mindless munching stress syndrome! I’ve been eating so much chocolate. SO MUCH. One of my housemates peeked into my cupboard the other day and asked how I’d managed to finish off almost the entire stash my friend brought a few weeks ago. Yikes. I think it’s time to follow your lead and make more healthy snacks and meals! These tofu no-meat balls looks delicious! I love that they contain ketchup and sriracha–two of my favorite squirtable condiments! 😀 The other recipe entrees have some seriously tough competition here.

    I hope you have a restful weekend before things get crazy next week!! You’re in my thoughts and prayers! xoxo ❤

  2. These look incredible! Such a great and creative idea:)

  3. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    These look like perfect studying food! In fact, perfect any time food 🙂 And I hope the studying goes smoothly and the exams even more so – studying is no fun at all sometimes. Lots of luck for your mid-term assessments.

  4. Khushboo says:

    Min! You are on a roll with the recipes lately…tofu no-meatballs are genius! I’ve actually never used tofu in place of mince but I will definitely be trying it out! How did Tim enjoy them? I bet he will be a tofu convert (if he isn’t already) in no time! Have a great weekend, and happy studying!

  5. thefoodery says:

    You are so right when you say “there are no wrong ways to use tofu” and “let your imagination guide your hands”! How else will we come across new and delicious recipes? Our kitchen is our laboratory and haven, and definitely the heart of our home! Keep on working that imagination, Min, these no-meatballs are a great idea. 🙂

  6. you always make the cutest recipes! I haven’t really tried tofu toooo much! I need to though and try one of your awesome recipes! Great pictures! (:

  7. ReganJonesRD says:

    Min, your pics are great! This is a must-make 🙂

  8. Hi Min!
    love this ! incredible recipe. Thanks for posting :)))
    Veena

  9. I love this! Keep the tofu posts coming!!

  10. Serena says:

    I’m so glad you posted cuz I’m making for dinnner tonight! Love the photos since I wasn’t sure how to smoosh w/ a knife. Think you mean fish “sauce” in the recipe?

  11. Aren’t these the best kind of recipes – ones you don’t have a lot of faith in and then bam, they totally deliver! I’ve LOVED seeing all the cool & unique ways to use tofu with this contest – totally inspired now and look forward to trying this recipe along with your others. Good luck with your midterm assignments/tests – this too shall pass 🙂

  12. Katarina says:

    These look delicious!

  13. Wow, those look like great brain and body fuel 🙂 You are so creative! I am totally a mindless snacker, especially when I am stressed or bored. When I have fresh fruit in the fridge, that helps stave off the munchies sometimes! I’m thinking of you this week, hoping your papers and presentations have been going well, and that you get a little bit of time to relax this weekend with Tim!!

  14. readytogetsweaty says:

    Do you think you can make it without the “fish sauce”? These look simply amazing and better than any other type of veggie-meatball I could find out there. I can’t wait to pair them with some homemade tomato sauce and maybe some spagetti squash…my mouth is literally watering.

    • Min says:

      Yes! You can def leave it out. As for me, I just like to add a dash of it to my recipes..it gives it that extra oomph ;). I haven’t tried any variations to this recipe since it came about as a result of just combining together whatever I had on hand, but I don’t see why you couldn’t totally make it your own. Maybe add bbq sauce, parmesan, tomato sauce, more breadcrumbs…see where your imagination takes ya ;).

Leave a Reply

