Sweet Potatoes, Peaches, and Yoga – October Randomness

Ok.  So I know it’s October, and you guys are probably busy stuffing your bellies with pumpkin and sweet potatoes.  I am with you!  How delightfully yummy have the sweet potatoes been lately?  I consume them all throughout the year, but the flavor certainly is far superior during this season.

I’ve been roasting them in almond oil tossed with copious amount of cinnamon (I don’t hold back here) at 400 for about 30 minutes, and I have myself a quick pick-me-up that never disappoints.  Great anytime of the day!  I usually like to roast them on Sunday and refrigerate for up to 3 days so I can pack it for my lunch during the school week.  Since my classes are each 3 hours long, I def need a snack halfway through…preferably ones that won’t disrupt the whole class when I munch on them as I’m not a delicate eater.   Ok, I’m spending wayyy too much time talking about them.  Moving right along…

However, as the weather here in Texas still suggests summer, I’m not quite done consuming my fair share of peaches and light, summery foods.  Therefore, I made this earlier last week….

Although I like to tweak recipes to put my spin and flare into them, this recipe by Ellie Krieger is perfect just the way it is!  Why mess with perfection, right?  The only thing I did differently was add spinach and tomatoes for some extra freshness!

And since this recipe is quite light and healthy, you can afford to splurge a little… Golden Grahams S’mores Bar anyone?

Adapted from Betty Crocker’s Recipe

Ingredients:

  • 4 Tbs butter
  • 1 (1o oz) bag of miniature marshmallows
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate and peanut butter chips (or can use all semi-sweet) + 1/2 cup for topping
  • 6 cups Graham Cracker cereal

Directions:

Melt butter in a large non-stick pan over low heat.  Add marshmallows and stir until completely melted.  Remove from heat.  Add cereal.  Stir until coated.  Mix in 1 cup of chocolate and peanut butter chips.  Spread treats into sprayed 9 by 9 baking pan.  Press into pan and sprinkle remaining 1/2 cup of chips on top of the treats.  Lightly press them into top of the treats.  Place in the refrigeratior for at least 30 minutes.

Now that I’ve shared with you my scrumptious eats, I’m going to get right into sharing with you my fitness plan for this month.  As you know, I’ve had to make drastic changes to my fitness routine due to my experience with hypothalamic amenorrhea.  It was the best decision I’ve ever made for my body as I’ve had my cycle for the past 2 months.  I’m definitely going to continue down this path of engaging in low-intensity workouts.  Although I’ve been doing yoga at my gym, as of this month, I’m saying adios to my gym membership.

That’s why I was thrilled when I heard of Courtney’s October yoga challenge!

Although I’ve been doing some circuits on my own, especially ones by Natalie, this challenge will be a great way to keep myself accountable as well as to find encouragement and motivation from others!  Sounds like a win-win to me!  Who knows?  Perhaps I will start diggin at home workouts!  Sure will save a lot of money and time in the end ;).  I’m excited to get started!  I’ve got my mat..my laptop, my sidekick…Let’s do this!  Namaste…

Recycled picture..couldn’t help it. Look at Kona..His posture is great and he’s completely focused as evidenced by his perked up ears! He’s trying to motivate me 😉

 

Questions:

 

– Do you like working out at home?

– What yoga DVDs or youtube workouts do you love?

This entry was posted in Fitness, Food, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sweet Potatoes, Peaches, and Yoga – October Randomness

  1. I LOVE the idea of roasting sweet potatoes with almond oil! I’ve actually never used it, but since I adore the coconut oil-roasted version, and think almond butter-topped sweet potatoes are the jam, I’m sure I’ll enjoy these too! I mean, they’re sweet potatoes. Pretty hard to mess up! 😉

    Ellie Krieger’s recipes are wonderful, but you know what? Your version looks SO much better than hers! I think Food Network should feature a picture of the Min-made peach chicken, rather than the one they have on the site. My mouth is watering! But that’s just the beginning. The S’More’s Bars look even more amazing! The addition of peanut butter chips is what’s really capturing my heart. *Swoon.*

    I hadn’t heard about the yoga challenge until reading this post, but I’m interested, and will definitely be checking it out after I finish up here. My body always feels so tight and tense from lifting and school stress, so I know yoga could be a really good thing for me! I think I might need to find a cute home workout sidekick first though. 😉

    I am so happy to hear that low intensity exercise has helped your body heal. ❤ You're an inspiration, Min! xoxoxo ❤

    • Courtney says:

      Hope you decide to join in, Sara! 🙂

    • Min says:

      Hi, Sara! Hehe yes yes it’s nearly impossible to mess up…we’re talkin about sweet potatoes here ;). I know..I felt the picture on their website didn’t do it justice..It’s actually a really great recipe! So simple!
      I did some yoga earlier today with Kona…Yes yes, you should totally get a sidekick..I felt like I had to keep going since there was an extra set of eyes watching my every move. It’s been really tough but so rewarding! Yup yup!

  2. I NEED those S’more bars in my life…no words but just “wow”! Your fitness plans for the month sound great…especially seeing the workouts of fellow bloggers, it’s so easy to try and always work out at a high intensity. Intense or not, any workout counts both physically and mentally, and I am sure you will more than reap the benefits of yoga. Hope you’ll share some of your circuits on the blog over the month- I could do with more yoga in my life :)!

    • Min says:

      You MUSt make them! SO easy to make! And delish! Thank you for your encouragement! I’ll be sure to share my progress and my experience 😉

  3. Courtney says:

    YAY for the yoga challenge! So happy to have you joining in, Min! 🙂

    • Min says:

      Thank you for bringing us all together! I spent some time looking for some great youtube videos..the ones I saw were just ok…Maybe I’m not searching in the right place? hmm..

  4. Wow – I’ve never heard of almond oil but I bet it’s absolutely delicious! Almost as tasty as those S’mores bars 😉 pretty much America for me in a bar (plus an imaginary camp fire of course).
    I really, really need to get into yoga. I’ve done Bikram but never a ‘normal’ class. I was considering taking up Courtney’s challenge every morning as I’ve been replacing my runs with walks. Shall keep you posted!

    • Min says:

      Ooh you must try almond oil! You def need to make these bars..so easy to make too! I did Bikram everyday for the past year…Although it’s great for some people, I actually lost wayy too much weight from it. I also stopped menstruating during this time also. Ooh! you should def consider doing the challenge! We can keep each other accountable 😉

      • I totally will make them, they actually look pretty too considering all the good things that are in them! Wow, Bikram every day is intense! I did it three times a week last year and loved it but it was just too expensive in the end. I’m trying to get menstruation back so doing it more would not be a good thing for me! I’m going to look for some hour-long yoga DVDs/videos online to replace my morning runs. I did pilates today and it felt so hard but very good.

  5. Hi Konaaaaa! (: I love smores! I am definitely making these! They look sooooooooo goooood! (: yum! I already pinned them! I love sweet potatoes but I don’t make much with them just buy the ones you stick in a microwave and throw some peanut butter on top! yummmm!

    • Min says:

      yes yes! You must make these! Bet Eric would love them too 😉 sweet potatoes and pb are a match made in heaven, indeed. But then again, pb goes with everything…wait..so does sweet potatoes..

  6. Aww good for little kona participating in the challenge 🙂 I need to roast sweet potatoes more often!

  7. Michelle says:

    Oh my, that all looks so good! I’m definitely checking out the Ellie Krieger recipe. And I need to start roasting my veggies once a week too – I’ve been doing my main courses on the weekend and just having leftovers all week, but I’m still cooking my veggies every day.
    I remember those yoga pictures – Oh, Kona! So cute. I do ALL of my strength workouts at home because I don’t feel comfortable doing it at the college gym with all of the beefy macho guys who take up every bit of space! I do run on the treadmill at the gym, but only because I don’t have one at home. Overall, I like staying home, mostly because then I don’t have to drive somewhere!
    I hope the menus all turned out okay today! And thanks for the pep talk – you are awesome 🙂

    • Min says:

      Wow! That’s awesome that you’re cooking veggies everyday! I’ve been slacking off…Puhaha! I know exactly what you mean! I don’t know what these guys are eating/taking, but they look abnormally HUGE! I did train with a personal trainer all last semester. $10 per session? Can’t beat that! I do like the fact that I save time by working out at home..but I do miss working out with others. Oh boy, those menus took me more than 4 hours! Oh my butt…And no problem! I know you’d do the same for me 😉 Good night!

  8. You know I love to work out at home!! I could always use some good yoga recommendations!

    • Min says:

      hehe..yes I do! 😉 I really need some recommendations as well. I watched some youtube videos and didn’t really like them. I also don’t want to pay extra either..

  9. I’ll definitely check out the Ellie Krieger recipe (love her!)

    If you find any great at-home workout DVDs or free videos, let me know!! I want to get back into exercise, but it’s a little bit hard with the two kids. Ideally, it would be something I could do while they are both sleeping in the afternoon. Kona is so cute, a perfect work-out buddy 🙂 My Kona gets really excited when I start doing exercises and then gets in my way, but I love him to pieces anyway!

  10. Ellie says:

    unniiie noh-moo yeh-ppo-yeo! 😀 teehee. And I’m so so happy for your cycle being back! Although it can be annoying having to deal with it every month, it is such a gift from God, isn’t it? And I’m loving the looks of your meals! And your sweet potato makes me crave the korean-chinese caramelized yams that you dip in ice water! Do you know what I’m talking about? I hope you have a great week and love you! ❤ ps: I think Tara Styles has some pretty good stuff? Oh! And def. Rodney Yee…he has crazy good sequences.

  11. Corrie Anne says:

    The Aim True yoga dvd is my fave!! I like working out at home… except the dogs go crazzzzy when I try it!

  12. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    I agree – definitely no need to change perfect recipes 🙂 And I am so impressed you do yoga. I just can’t. Or at least, I’m sure I could with time and patience and practice, but I seem to lack them 😛 I don’t work out at home much at all in truth; outdoors from home or at the gym are pretty much my two options!

  13. Pingback: Basil Lemon Chicken, Quinoa Salad |

  14. Pingback: Basil Lemon Chicken, Quinoa Salad - The Adventures of MJ and Hungryman

Leave a Reply

