Soybean Paste Marinated Pork Lettuce Wrap

Happy Friday, everyone!   I look forward to this day every week, as I’m sure most of you guys do as well.  No classes means I get to sleep in, if you consider 6 am sleeping in.   And yes, I do feel refreshed when I wake up!  I also work from home which means frequent meanderings to and from the kitchen with my black shadow, aka Kona, tracing my every step.  As a result, on Fridays, I tend to consume a lot more calories than I normally would, but that’s perfectly fine by me.  It’s just one day out of the week, and it’s mostly sensible snacking…or so I’d like to think ;).  You don’t understand how much I miss opening up my fridge and the pantry door during the week.  I must make it up somehow, right?

I also like to do all my meal planning on Fridays so that come the weekend, I can get right to cookin’.  I prepare everything in advance for the upcoming week so this step is very crucial!

Last week, I shared with you my recipe for Soybean Paste Soup with Spinach and Clams.  Earlier this week, I used the soybean paste to  marinate my pork.  As the paste is so flavorful, it delivers a unique, flavor-punch to the tender meat.  Topped with sriracha and oh man, you’ve got yourself one drool-worthy meal.  If savory and spicy are your thang, this is a must try!


  Soybean Paste Marinated Pork Lettuce Wrap

Printable Recipe

Serves 4-6 people

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 Ib. pork tenderloin

Marinade

  • 2 Tbs soybean paste (doenjang)
  • 4 Tsp honey
  • 2 Tsp sriracha
  • 1 Tbs fish sauce
  • 1 Tbs sesame oil
  • 1 Tsp grated ginger
  • 1/2 cup chopped scallion
  • 1 Tsp cornflour
  • 1 Tbs water
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • 1 Tbs mirin

Additional 

  • 1 cup onion, thinly sliced
  • Red leaf lettuce, washed and dried
  • Sriracha to drizzle

Directions:

  1. Combine together all the marinade ingredients in a large bowl and set aside.
  2. Cut the pork tenderloin into bite-size pieces.
  3. Add the pork to the bowl and mix well with the marinade.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes.  *
  4. Cook pork in a griddle pan (or on the grill) over med-high heat.  Cook until exterior is seared and inside is no longer pink.
  5. In the meanwhile, caramelize onions.  Wash lettuce.
  6. Serve: Place the meat in the lettuce and top with caramelized onions and sriracha!

* I marinated overnight.  The longer it sits in the marinade, the better.

This is the best fish sauce ever! Look for the 3 crabs!

It’s a mouthful!

And with the leftovers, how about making this simple and healthful pork and soba noodle salad?

Pork and Soba Noodle Salad

Serves 2

Ingredients:

Dressing

  • 1 Tbs low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 Tsp sesame oil
  • 1 Tsp honey
  • 1/4 Tsp ginger, finely grated
  • 1/4 Tsp garlic, minced
  • 1 Tbs lime juice

Salad

  • 1/2 red bell pepper, julienned
  • 1/2 carrot, julienned
  • 1 scallion, sliced thinly
  • 1 bunch of enoki mushrooms (or any other mushroom of your choice)
  • Soba noodles (for 2)
  • Leftover pork

Directions:

Prepare the sauce.  Cook the noodles.  Toss everything together.

Hope you guys give this recipe a try!  You can find soybean paste at any local Korean or Asian grocery store.  Look for this tan colored container!

And with that, I hope you have a fun, relaxing weekend!

This entry was posted in Culture, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Soybean Paste Marinated Pork Lettuce Wrap

  1. daileeblossom says:

    That looks so yummy, Min!!! I LOVE spicy food – Sriracha is my best friend. 🙂 I’m going to try making this for my Korean friends some time!

  2. Linz says:

    your pictures are gorgeous! i’ve never cooked pork before… i think you need to come here and cook for my hubby – he would love you!!

  3. I told myself if I ever work from home, I will have to watch how many times I head to the kitchen. I always tend to snack more days I am off so I feel ya.
    I love these lettuce wraps! What a great idea to incorporate pork.
    Enjoy your Friday, Min!

  4. Ashley says:

    Awesome!! Looks yummy!

  5. I hope you get some good relaxing time this weekend! Are you guys hitting up any burger joints this weekend?! 🙂 These recipes look great! I love lettuce wraps and have never used soy bean paste in cooking so I need to try that out! Hope you enjoy your weekend Min!

  6. Jess says:

    Love soba noodles!! My husband would love that pork! Have a great weekend!

  7. Pingback: Food for Thought « Dailee Blossom

  8. Ooh, I love the idea of using soybean paste as a marinade! Plus, sriracha coupled with sesame oil, ginger and honey sounds like a dream. It’s been quite some time since I’ve cooked with pork, but my mouth is sure watering now!

    I’m so glad that you’re able to “sleep in” on Fridays! (A 6am wakeup would be alarmingly early for me, but it’s all relative, I guess, because I go to bed alarmingly late each night). Fridays are my only day off too, so I always try to take advantage of the free time by turning on the stove or oven. I was once a girl who cooked *all the time,* but now, not so much. I guess for the time being, learning about food is more important than making it, right? 😉

    Hope you had a restful weekend, Min! Hugs! xoxo

  9. Lusiana Njo says:

    I like the idea of cooking something that can be used 2 ways. Soybean paste & pork, what can go wrong? 🙂 Great photos too!

Leave a Reply

