Bison Wheat Berry Stroganoff

Tim loves the traditional beef stroganoff – the dredged thin strips of meat, butter, mushrooms, cream of mushroom soup, sour cream, egg noodles…the whole works.  I, too, love this comfort dish, but I sure try not to indulge too much.  What I appreciate about this dish is the hearty, thick, creamy flavor profile that I find extremely satisfying and comforting.  Not to mention, I just LOVE mushrooms that are softened and glistening in golden brown hues.  So I thought long and hard about how I could turn this dish into one that I wouldn’t mind eating as often as I’d like to.

My inspiration began with wheat berry.  Strange place to start, I know.  However, introducing Tim to all the amazing grains that are out there, other than brown rice, has been a huge priority in my cooking as of late.  For the longest time, Tim refused to eat anything that didn’t match the color of a blank sheet of paper.  So you can imagine how I felt, when he ordered wheat bread at Subway for the first time all on his own – I couldn’t have been happier.  I consider it a huge feat to have converted him to eating and enjoying wheat products and brown rice.  However, that’s where he drew the line.

Well, I’m ready to turn his world upside down!  Of course I want him to eat more nutritiously, but I can’t say that there’s not a component of laziness to my motive either.  I’ve spoiled him long enough!  I don’t want to have to cook a different grain for each of us.  If I’m eating wheat berry, so is Tim!

So anyway, here’s my healthier interpretation of this dish using my favorite piece of equipment – the one and only crockpot!

Bison Wheat Berry Stroganoff

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups of low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 cup wheat berries
  • 6 oz sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1/2 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 Tbs EVOO
  • 1 Ibs ground bison (or ground beef)
  • 1 cup celery, chopped
  • 1 cup green onions, minced
  • 1/2 cup zucchini
  • 1 tsp garlic, minced
  • 1/2 cup low fat buttermilk
  • Parsley and sriracha, optional but highly recommended!

Directions:

  1. Place broth, wheat berries , mushrooms, marjoram and pepper in slow cooker on low setting.  Cover and cook 6 to 7 hours.
  2. Coat large skillet in EVOO and brown beef for 6-8 minutes over med-high heat.  Stir to break up meat.  Add all veggies.  Cook and stir until softened, approx 3 minutes.
  3. Incorporate beef mixture into slow cooker.  Pour and stir in buttermilk.  Cover and cook on high for 10-15 minutes.
  4. Sprinkle some chopped parsley on top.  Drizzle sriracha on top.

Mushrooms and wheat berries in vegetable broth.  Place in crockpot and walk away.

Browned bison and veggies

The verdict?  Here’s how it went down:  I announce to the hubby that we’re having beef stroganoff.  He’s elated!  Then he sees the dish…”hmm….this is interesting..not quite what I was expecting,” he says.  Then he takes a bite.  “Wow..what is this?  It’s really….intense…very chewy.”  I proceed to tell him that they are wheat berries.

The dish certainly took him by surprise, but at the very end he exclaimed that the flavor was right on!  As it was his first exposure to this unique grain, I’m sure he needs some time to chew it over (Yes!  Pun intended ;)).  He told me that this recipe will be a hit amongst “you healthy living people.”  Haha.  I had to laugh.  So if you are a healthy living person, you should def check out this recipe!  And even if you are not, I think you’ll appreciate this dish!  It’s chewy, hearty, thick, warm, rich, and absolutely satisfying!

This entry was posted in Family, Food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Bison Wheat Berry Stroganoff

  1. Linz says:

    I’ve never cooked with wheatberries before, but this dish looks like something both Jonny and I would enjoy! (Let’s be real – Jonny likes anything with meat!) And his healthy living people comment is hilarious – sometimes the boys just don’t get it!

    • Min says:

      Oh, you def need to try wheat berries! Tim appreciated it by the end of the meal haha. yea..it took him that long. But hey, it takes time right? The other day I asked him, “what other grains shall we try?” He yelled “WHITE RICE! that’s a rare grain in this house!” haha.

  2. It’s pouring outside right now and lord knows I could do with a bowl of that- sounds like perfect comfort zone! I’ve actually never tried wheatberries but it sounds quite similar to pearl barley? If so, I know I’d love it…love grains being on the slightly chewer side! And LOL about Tim’s mention of “us healthy people”!

    • Min says:

      You know, I’ve only had the hulled barley which I think is very similar to wheat berries in that it’s got the chewy texture. To my understanding, pearl barley is less chewier as the outer layer has been removed.

  3. Corrie Anne says:

    Wow. I have never cooked with anything even close to bison, but I have to admit it looks great!! I like being lumped with the healthy living people! Lol.

    • Min says:

      Yes yes you are! 😉 It makes me feel good and that I’m doing something right hehe. Hope you try bison one of these days! Much leaner and heartier! yum

  4. carol says:

    Wheatberries = deliciousness! Love them and I’m sure that stroganoff was exactly that – delicious. Out of all the grains, brown rice is my least favorite. Bring the wheatberries on.n

    • Min says:

      Oh really? You don’t like brown rice? Do you think it’s more of a texture thing or flavor?
      Haha! Your enthusiasm for wheatberries is quite evident 😉

  5. Courtney says:

    This looks delicious, Min! Thank you for sharing and I’m glad your husband liked it! 😀

  6. I love wheat berry :). Now that I’m back in Houston I have access to my Mom’s slow cooker too! Bookmarking this!

  7. This looks so comforting, perfect for fall – even if I won’t really get to experience fall this year, I’m still going to pretend that the air is turning crisper and colder 🙂

    I will have to pick up some wheatberries, never tried it before! That’s awesome that you are introducing Tim to healthier grains, he will thank you one day 🙂

    • Min says:

      To be quite honest, I don’t know if we’ll get to experience fall either. Last year it just went straight from being ridiculously hot to chilly..not cold.
      Ooh..you must try them! And yes..He better thank me hehe

  8. Ellie says:

    I’m dying to try bison meaaaaaaaat!!!!!!!!!!!! I keep bringing it up to greg and he doesn’t say anything. lol. haha, tim is so funny! greg and tim are quite similar and he sometimes says stuff like that too. 😀 unnniiiiie mahnee bappujeeh?

    • Min says:

      Puhahah…I see! You MUST try! I have so much in my freezer right now…wish I can share the love! I really do hope they’ll get to meet someday…oh wait…more importantly, we must meet! I am jinja bappuh! But I’m hanging in there..taking it one day..wait no…one hour at a time 😉 Thank you for thinking of me!

  9. Michelle says:

    Min! Again you are making me want to get some bison to use! Although I think I could try this with venison! I’ve actually never tried wheat berries, but I am dying to!

    We really need to live closer together so I can talk to you about everything while I’m working on school-related stuff because I haven’t had much time to take a break lately! But I still make time to read my favorite blog when I wake up in the morning 🙂

    • Min says:

      Aww..Michelle! You totally made my day! You’re so sweet ;). I think venison will def work! And you MUST try wheat berries!

      I know exactly how you might be feeling. I was the same way when I first decided to go back to school full-time. Everything was so overwhelming! I mean it’s such a different lifestyle. You constantly have work to do and have to be at so many different places each and every day.

      However, over time, you learn to manage your time more wisely and of course get faster at memorizing (cramming), writing papers, etc. What’s helping me this semester is the constant reminder that grades aren’t everything! I don’t have to strive to be number one. What’s more important is to actually learn the material (rather than trying to cram for exams) and to enjoy this whole process.
      You’ll figure it out! I know you will! Until then, hang in there!!

  10. Love this alternative! I will have to add this to the list!

  11. Min this recipe is awesome! I haven’t had Beef Stroganoff in forever but I love the flavor and have never tried Wheat Berries! Tim sounds just like my husband and a lot of husbands in the blog world 😉 He’s just now loving Quinoa which I am thankful for 🙂

  12. Min says:

    Wheat berries are awesome! So nutritious, hearty, nutty…and extremely filling! Oh, Tim started to appreciate quinoa too! Yay us 😉

  13. Min, you’re a culinary genius! I would have never thought to use wheatberries in place of noodles, but I bet they’re absolutely scrumptious with the creamy stroganoff sauce! I regularly buy wheatberry salad at Whole Foods, but I’ve never cooked with it, so I’m naming you my wheatberry inspiration. 😉 I also love that you used bison instead of beef in this recipe. Yum!

    Props to Tim for being adventurous to try these “crazy” grains. 😉 I know many guys who won’t touch them. But then again, I guess as kitchen heiress, you kind of control what goes in or doesn’t go in his mouth! 😉 We were discussing acquired taste for health foods in my class today, and all evidence shows that he, like most people, will and can start loving healthy foods like wheatberries!

    Hope you’re doing well! How are classes going? I miss you! ❤

    • Min says:

      Hi, Sara! Haha! Your comments always make me smile ;). Mmm…wheaberry salad at WF is one of my favorites! You must make it for yourself! WIll save you a lot of money too. As good as WF salad bar is, let’s stop our wallets from weeping hehe. And you know how much I love bison! Since I have so much in my freezer, I add it to just about anything.

      That’s right! Tim HAS to eat what I put in front of him! I like that…”kitchen heiress.” hehe. Much better than, I’m just a cook! Yup and I learned how food preferences can change over time so let’s go and convert our friends…then the world 😉
      My classes are going well! Busy but I’m being productive! Miss you too! HLS seems like so long ago

  14. Pingback: Debut in Runner’s World and a Recipe Roundup

  15. Pingback: Wheat Berry Hummus Spread | savortherainbow

Leave a Reply

