First Day of School

The day has come…time to sling on my oversized backpack that makes me look like a turtle, put on my Toms and rediscover my inner nerdy self (shouldn’t be too hard).  I’m taking three courses this semester: Biotechnology (which apparently is one of the hardest courses in the program), Nutrition and Disease, and Medical Nutrition Therapy.

Although I don’t look forward to the 1.5 hour long commute that awaits me, I’m excited to listen to all the podcasts I’ve downloaded.  If you have any recommendations, please please share the love!  I’m new to this podcast world.  It’ll make the drive a lot less gruesome.

On Saturday, the hubby and I went to The Steeping Room.  This place is heavenly for all you tea lovers out there!   The list of teas is endless…

Yup..that’s just the tea menu!

We’ve come here before to drink tea, but this was our first time to dine. Their food menu’s very impressive as well!  With many organic, gluten-free, and vegan options, there’s something for everyone!

I ordered the Seasonal Grilled Vegetable sandwich.  It had tofu, zucchini, roasted red peppers, caramelized onions (Yes!), arugula walnut pesto (I’ll be recreating this soon), and hummus (I opted for this instead of goat cheese).  It was served with a side of mixed greens dressed with balsamic vinigarette.

Tim had a Croque Monsieur for the first time in his life!  The scallion aioli and over-easy egg made this classic ham and cheese sandwich extra special.  I just like saying the word “aioli.”  Sounds so fancy!  I was so excited for him!  Usually this sandwich tends to be on the heavier side, but it tasted surprisingly very light…not too greasy.  Tim really enjoyed it!  And he opted for chips rather than salad despite my persuasive efforts.  Boo…

I’ve been seeing a lot of drippy eggs amongst the bloggers (first time from Laura), and I must say, it certainly has changed my life!  I’ve been eating a drippy eggs, PB &J sandwich every morning for the past 2 weeks!  It sure made this sandwich as well!

Drool…

Had a marvelous time!

Since my weekdays are going to be crazy, I’m getting back to my old schedule of prepping all my food over the weekend.  My routine looks like this…

  1. Roast veggies.
  2. Wash green leafy veggies:  usually spinach, kale.
  3. Cook grains and beans:  quinoa, lentils, brown rice, chickpeas are my usual.
  4. Prepare meat in the slow cooker (chicken, flank steak, whatever I have on hand), cook ground bison meat in a pan, make hardboiled eggs.

These are the products of my labor from this weekend…Why not roast everything while the oven is still hot?  Not only is roasting my favorite way to eat veggies, I love that I don’t have to babysit them.  I’m quite the roasting queen as you can see…

I’d like to mention that corn was 5 for $1!  A money saving tip:  Buy as many fresh ones while they’re basically free, cook, and freeze for the later months!

For a quick salad – wash veggies, remove all the water by using a spinner (my life saver!), and seal in a ziploc bag with a paper towel.  This helps the greens stay fresher longer as the towel absorbs all the excess moisture.

Cooked all my grains and beans

Once a month, I cook a huge batch of beans, store in individual containers, and freeze so that come Sundays, all I have to do is transfer one of the containers to the fridge.

Ahhh…What a glorious sight!

Yes, it does take up a big chunk of time (although I’ve gotten really fast at it), but it’s so worth it!  Come weekday mornings when I have to leave the house by 6, all I have to do is dump and mix!  I don’t worry about anything going bad because between the hubby and me, we gobble it up pretty quickly.  I also prepare couple of dishes on weekends, such as casseroles, soups, pasta dishes, to freeze for later or to enjoy during the week.  And this is how I manage to eat healthy while trying to juggle a million things each day.

This took less than 5 minutes to prepare.

 

IMG_0166

This took less than 5 minutes to prepare

Aside from these “dump and mix” quick meals, I also prepare couple of dishes on weekends to freeze for lateng the week.

I’m headed out the door now!  Hope you guys have a marvelous Monday!

Thanks, Katie, for hosting this link-up every week!  I’m going to be needing this wonderful reminder a lot more from this point on!

Question:

What are some of your fav podcasts?

How do you manage to eat healthy when you’re super busy? Any tips or routines you’d like to share?  

This entry was posted in Austin Eats, Dating, Food, MIMM, RD2be and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to First Day of School

  1. Check out the Jillian Michaels’ Podcasts (The Jillian Michaels Show)- I love listening to them when I’m on the cross trainer or walking on the treadmill. They’re really informative yet hilarious at the same time…love her “don’t give a damn” attitude!

    Your organizing & pre-prepping is inspiring! It’s the only way I can stay healthy when things get busy…especially when it’s already made, I have NO reason not to stick to healthy eating! Along with the tips you shared, I always try to double up (or even triple) up on dinners…leftovers make for a super easy packed lunch! Have a fab Monday, Min!

    • Min says:

      Ooh! Thanks for the recommendation! I LOVE her too and def need that much needed push from her to keep going.
      And gotta love the leftovers!! My Monday was tiring..but exciting! 😉

  2. carol says:

    Good luck on your new endeavor and may your classes be a snap. No doubt in my mind you will so well. Success is on the horizon.

  3. carol says:

    sorry – do well

  4. Linz says:

    I usually make a big batch of beans on Sunday (like a pound) in the crockpot. It takes no effort and then I eat them all week long. I like your idea of making several different types (and grains) to freeze for later, easy use! I’m a huge fan of batch cooking!! Good luck with school, girly!!

    • Min says:

      You know, I should try using my crockpot also! I normally just cook it in the stovetop. I find that when I soak overnight, it doesn’t have to be cooked as long. Usually I eat the quinoa and the hubby eats the brown rice (it took a while for him to depart with his white rice..but I succeeded in converting him muhahaha), Thanks, Liz for the wishes! It’s going to be hard, but the courses sound really interesting!!

  5. Maria says:

    Hmm..interesting..I’ve never done that with beans before. Thanks for the tip 🙂 I’d have the most difficult time selecting something from the tea menu lol..way too many choices..yet this is a good thing lol. Your photos are gorgeous btw (can’t seem to wrap my head around the drippy eggs though) YUCK..sorry!! Have fun on your first day of school Min! xo

    • Min says:

      Hi, Maria! RIght? the tea selection is insane! I’m so indecisive so you can imagine how long it took for me to pick just one…Haha..that’s what I thought at first too..but I gave it a try, and I loved it! 😉 Thanks! It’s going to be a hard semester as far as I can tell!

  6. Hey Min! I’m taking Med Nutrition Therapy this semester too! Good luck with your classes! And I do the same things with beans, too. It’s so much easier than preparing them every single time you eat them. Haha and it looks like we eat a lot of the same foods. I see the Fage Greek yogurt, the almond milk, chickpeas, and let’s not forget the drippy egg pb&j. 😉 Have a great week!

    • Min says:

      Thank you, Anna! Ooh you eat the same bfast as I do? hehe that’s awesome ;). Sounds like our tastebuds are very similar! Hope you have a fantastic week also! What other classes are you taking?

      • I’m taking a food, beverage, and labor cost control class, micronutrient metabolism, nutritional assessment, and a “professional” class to go over applying to DIs, getting a portfolio together, and all that jazz. 🙂 It’s going to be a busy semester but I’m looking forward to it!

  7. onehealthymunchkin says:

    That’s so awesome that you’re studying to become an RD too! What year are you in? 🙂

    Also I’m seriously impressed with all your food prep – I really need to start doing that instead of cooking something new every single day. Even though I like using cooking as a way to relax after a day of classes, it would be nice to have a bit more time on my hands by prepping ahead like you do! The only time I really cook in batches is when I make a big pot of soup or chili.

    • Min says:

      Yea! I wanted to talk to you about it at the conference also! This is my first year in the Master’s program. You? What classes are you taking? I wonder how the program is in Canada? Do you guys have coordinated programs?

      I cook on some night when I need to destress as well. But then there are nights when all I have absolutely NO TIME! This way, I don’t have to freak out on those days. It’ll def free up more time during the week! Mmm…chili…haven’t had that in awhile!!

  8. oh man I need your prep skills.

  9. kcrean88 says:

    good luck with school!! I love Wait Wait don’t tell me. If you have a smart phone download stitcher and you can stream podcasts on that for free!

  10. Pingback: Marvelous Mondays Recap — Fit for the Soul

  11. I’m sorry you have such a long commute! And here I am complaining about having to take a 20 minute bus ride to school… You put me in my place :). I’ve tried to prep staple foods like you do but I can never seem to stick with it after a week or two. It definitely makes life easier though!

    • Min says:

      Ooh..20 min sounds lovely haha. How are things going? I bet you’re crazy busy also! It’s always tough in the beginning to prep, but as the semester goes on, it becomes a habit for me. I don’t even think about it….I just go along with what my hands are doing 😉

  12. That sandwich looks just amazing! Loving all the delicious ingredients. YUM!
    I love that you prep so much on the weekend. I like to do a bit, but I may do a lot more!! You have seriously inspired me. 🙂

    • Min says:

      It truly was a one yummy sandwich! All the flavors came together beautifully! I bet whatever you prep will be a lot more impressive than mine! Do share some helpful tips when you get rolling 😉

  13. eatpraytri says:

    The Village Church!! They get me through my drive EVERY day. I’m listening to the series on Luke right now. So powerful!!

    • Min says:

      Ooh yes! I downloaded the app directly to my phone but was really disappointed when I couldn’t get it to play in my car. Do I have to download it to the iTunes first? I listened to Splendid Table. It was fun 😉

  14. You guys are SO cute! I love that you do dinners on the weekend, so fun and great quality time together! I remember you told me that you guys do that 😉 Mike and I try to but we slack sometimes!

    Hope your first day was great Min! Lots of love!

    • Min says:

      Hi, Katie! We almost always go out to eat somewhere on Saturday. I mean it’s the only time we go out to eat so we really look forward to trying new restaurants! If not, Tim will be a very very depressed man..haha
      Thanks! Hope you have a wonderful Tuesday!

  15. Good luck on your first day!! Can’t wait to hear how your classes go…they sound really interesting! Praying that everything goes smoothly and without added stress 🙂

    I haven’t gotten into podcasts, but if you recommend any, let me know!

    • Min says:

      Thank you, Maura! I need all the prayers I can get ;).
      I’ll def let you know! Cinnamon just recommended The Village Church. I’m going to listen to it this morning! Hope you have a great day!

  16. Corrie Anne says:

    I’ve never gotten into podcasts. What’s my problem??? Hope your first day was wonderful. Prepping on the weekend is awesome!

    • Min says:

      Haha! Your comments always crack me up ;). I prolly wouldn’t have if it wasn’t for this commute. I’m getting sick of my radio and my music. First day was really tiresome, but once I get back into the swings of things, I’m sure it will be fine. Are you and the hubby enjoying this time of freedom? Yay!

  17. your fridge looks perfect! I am so jealous! I hope you enjoyed your first day of school! (:

  18. What an amazing tea menu! It looks like you’re super organised for returning to study – I hope it all goes well 🙂

  19. You were so productive with the food! I need to do that! Hope your first day went so so well!

  20. memeinge says:

    Good luck with school! I’m so impressed with your make-ahead meals. I was pretty organized but my commute to school was only 10-15 minutes, so I definitely had time to spare most mornings {except those early morning rotations in my dietetic internship, blah}

    • Min says:

      Thank you! If I’m not organized like this, then I’m setting myself up for failure..So I continue…oh 10 min commute sounds heavenly..

  21. Brittany says:

    Good luck with school girl!! I love how you prepare in advance! I need to do more of that! I usually rely on crockpot meals!

  22. Michelle says:

    Prepping food ahead of time has been a lifesaver for me this past week!! I’ve been making double of a lot of recipes and freezing the extras so that I don’t have to do a lot of cooking during the week. I haven’t made any beans ahead of time though and always wish I had some!! I’m going to have to try that with some chickpeas!

    • Min says:

      You and I sound like we have similar schedules! Let’s hang in there! We got this!! I love having beans on hand. I try not to use canned beans as much as possible. Desperately need that extra protein to keep me satisfied throughout the day!

  23. I am SO impressed with your food prep, Min! You’re an inspiration! I plan on using your “template” next week; the thought of having everything ready to go each morning sounds like a dream. 🙂 The only obstacle for me will be finding fridge space, as I share with five other people. 😉 I may have to take over the basement fridge! I’ve made my way through grad school over the past two years by relying on Whole Foods salad bar. It’s a lifesaver when it comes to quick, healthy meals, but it’s definitely a HUGE money drain! I’m guessing I’ll save hundreds of dollars over the year if I start prepping like you do!

    The grilled vegetable sandwich you enjoyed at The Steeping Room looks SO delicious! I’ve actually never tried tofu in a sandwich, so this is a new combination that I’ll have to play around with. I’m so happy you’ve discovered dippy eggs! Aren’t they wonderful?!

    I hope your first day went well! My first class is tomorrow…I’m not sure I’m ready, but let the craziness begin! xoxo ❤

    • Min says:

      You share with 5 other people?! YIkes! Yes go claim that basement fridge!! And yes..I LOVE WF salad bar, but it is quite expensive! Tofu in sandwiches are really great! You should def give it a try! And haha..is it dippy eggs? I thought it was drippy!
      Oh how did your first day go? Can’t wait to hear all about it! Good luck! YOu can do it!!

  24. Wow your fridge looks organized! I’m pretty organized myself but I can learn a thing or two from you 😉

  25. Pingback: What does your food plate look like? | savortherainbow

  26. Pingback: Wheat Berry Hummus Spread | savortherainbow

  27. jetsetwisdom says:

    Reblogged this on jetsetWISDOM LLC and commented:
    This Savor the Rainbow young beautiful Min is my new hero! Love love love!

  28. Pingback: Kamut Margherita Salad | savortherainbow

  29. Pingback: One Less Decision | savortherainbow

  30. Pingback: One Less Decision - The Adventures of MJ and Hungryman

  31. Pingback: Wheat Berry Hummus Spread - The Adventures of MJ and Hungryman

Leave a Reply

