Black Bean Soup with Hatch Chile

Although the hatch chile festival’s over, I still have a ton of them in my fridge eagerly anticipating the day they get roasted.  Did you check out my other 2 recipes?  If not, hope you’ll take a peek!

I did some research, and these are the facts I found out (I love history):  The hatch is a relatively young chile, cultivated in New Mexico in 1912, and named after Gen. Edward Hatch who served under Ulysses S. Grant. The California-grown Anaheim is its great grandson.  It’s perfect for freezing!  Just make sure to roast it first.  However, be aware that the longer it’s stored in the freezer, the hotter it gets!  Isn’t that fascinating? Maybe I should try freezing them for a whole year ;).

Well since there’s no way the hubby and I can eat the massive quantity of remaining chiles, I shall def be roasting and freezing them to enjoy them during the “cold” months that are about to follow.  Before I do, I’m going to incorporate them into many of my favorite dishes, such as black bean soup.  Now, my favorite is the one from Panera!  Have you guys ever had it?  So so yummy!  The spiciness and the thicker consistency make their soup top-notch.

Although theirs is vegetarian, I had to add some sort of meat for the hubby.  Therefore, I had to make some changes, but I knew I wanted to keep the heat and the thickness.  I modified the recipe found here.


Black Bean Soup with Hatch Chile 

Ingredients:

  • 6oz Canadian bacon, cut *
  • 1 Tbs EVOO
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 medium carrot, chopped
  • 4 medium roasted hatch chiles, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp ground oregano
  • 3 cans (15 1/2 oz.) black beans, drained and thoroughly rinsed
  • 4 cups water, plus more as needed
  • 1/2 cup cilantro **
  • salt to taste
  • Garnish: tomatoes, avocado, cilantro, cooked Canadian bacon

* the original recipe calls for ham, but Canadian bacon is a much healthier alternative since it comes from the pork loin.  You can leave it out and make it vegetarian.

** I didn’t stir it into the soup to be blended.  I didn’t want the cilantro to be overpowering, so instead I added a couple of sprigs at the very end.  You decide.

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, cook Canadian bacon over med-high heat until browned.  Transfer to a dish.
  2. Reduce heat to medium and add oil.  Cook onion and carrots, until lightly browned (approx 2-3 min.).  Add chiles, garlic, cumin, and oregano.  Cook for 1-2 min. until garlic is tender.  Add beans and water.  Simmer 10 min.
  3. Remove from heat.  Stir in cilantro leaves.  Puree mixture until smooth using immersion blender or food processor.  Add more water to thin soup, if needed.
  4. Transfer into a bowl.  Sprinkle bacon, tomato, avocado, cilantro on top.

This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Black Bean Soup with Hatch Chile

  1. Looks so yummy (your photography is amazing, by the way!) I love the one from Panera. That’s one of my favorites, that and their chicken tortilla soup. I used to eat broccoli cheddar all the time when I was in college 🙂 Apparently I’m a big Panera soup fan. Too bad they don’t have any in Hawaii. What can I substitute if I can’t find hatch chiles? Poblanos?

    • Min says:

      I LOVE Panera too! But haven’t been there in awhile since we only go out to eat once a week. I believe Panera uses jalapeños so you can try that, and I’m sure poblanos will work just fine too! I sometimes like adding chipotle and a lil bit of adobo sauce..I’m obsessed with adobo 😉

  2. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    I have never thought of making black bean soup! What a great idea, and this looks fantastic 🙂

  3. Linz says:

    My hubby requires meat, too! Carnivores!

  4. your pictures look so good! (:

  5. Melissa says:

    love the idea of freezing the green chiles – brilliant! I’ve been eyeing them up at HEB lately so I may need to stock up 🙂 this soup looks delicious!

    • Min says:

      Hi, Melissa! You should! They’re so cheap right now too! Oh, I can’t wait for you to roast them! The smell is just intoxicating!

  6. eatpraytri says:

    ummm so yeah I lived in NM for like 32 years and never knew the history of Hatch chilies. I just ate them up. HA! We are going in October and I am already excited for the food.

  7. Brittany says:

    I think I would leave the meat out, but this looks amazing! Must try hatch chilis!!!

    • Min says:

      Oh yes..I didn’t want to add the meat either, but I’m trying to win some bonus points from the hubby 😉 Do you see any at your stores? If not, can I send some to you? I think they’ll ship ok..

  8. Yes, more hatch chilies!! I can’t wait to try these recipes out!

  9. Black bean soup is one of my favorites! Yours looks sooo good!!
    And your pictures are so pretty

  10. Looks delicious.

    BTW You are welcome to join in my monthly food blogger event THE SOUP KITCHEN, here for entry details and current theme. New theme each month. All bloggers are welcome, hope to see you participate soon.

  11. I love a black bean soup with cilantro! I love doing it with avocado and tempeh bacon on top. Will have to keep my eye out for hatch chilis are the market today! That would be a fun change from my usual jalapeno.

  12. Kristen. says:

    Oh thank you we have hatch chiles coming out our ears from our farm share, I will be making this tonight!

    • Min says:

      Hi, Kristen! Wow! You’re sooo lucky! That must be such an awesome feeing ;). I hope you’ll like the recipe! Please let me know how it turned out!

  13. Pingback: Easiest Black Bean Soup Around | The Balanced Soul

  14. Pingback: Spotlight on a Superfruit: Avocado | savortherainbow

Leave a Reply

