Hatch Chile Partay

Hatch chiles receive all the buzz here in Austin come August.  From August 8-21, Central Market, a local grocery store, will be hosting the 17th Annual Hatch Chile Festival!  These unique peppers are all the rage amongst the foodies with their wonderfully meaty flesh and mild-medium heat.  They’re harvested only a few weeks out of the year from Hatch, New Mexico, which means it’s time to get our fix now!  And of course roast and freeze some for the rest of the year.  I don’t know about you, but anytime I hear “limited time only,” I feel that it’s my duty to take advantage… would be a sin to pass it up!  I’m an advertiser’s dream when it comes to being swayed by words.  Not proud of it.

These unique peppers are so versatile.  I simply roast them and add them to any and every dish, such as Chile Con Queso, enchiladas, salads, stews, soups, sandwiches, etc.

I went to the store and went a lil’ pepper happy…returned home with 6 Ibs. worth.  What do I do with them?!?  First, I roast them!  Just can’t get enough of the intoxicating peppery aroma that fills the house!  The scent is like no other.  They should have their own scented candle.  No?  Well, I’d buy it for sure!  These delectables are def a summer staple!

For this edition of WIAW, instead of showing you what I ate, I’d like to share two recipes with you featuring, yup you got it!  Hatch chiles!  Thank you Jenn for this link-up!

First up…



Lightened-Up Shepherd’s Pie with Roasted Sweet Potatoes and Hatch Chiles

Loosely followed Paleo Picadillo Casserole

Serving size: 4 people | Prep time: 30 min | Cooking time: 30 min

Ingredients:

  • 1 Ib. ground bison (any meat of choice)
  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • 1 med onion, diced
  • 1 cup mushroom, diced
  • 4 hatch chiles, roasted, skin removed, diced
  • 2 ears of corn, roasted and removed from cob
  • 2-3 chipotle chiles in adobo sauce, chopped
  • 14 oz. can diced tomatoes, in juice
  • 2 Tbs. adobo sauce
  • 1 Tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 Tsp. cumin
  • 1 Tsp. chile pepper
  • EVOO for roasting
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 3 med sweet potatoes, roasted and dice
  • 1 egg
  • Pumpkin seeds (optional, I like the crunch they provide)

Directions:

Roasting:

Hatch chiles:  Wash, pat with paper towel, rub with EVOO, broil in the oven until the skin chars.  When cooled, remove skin and dice.

Sweet potatoes and corn:  Coat in EVOO and roast in the oven at 400F for 30 min.

Filling:  Cook ground meat, until browned.  Remove from pan.  Cook all the veggies until softened, about 8 min.  Return meat to pan and add tomatoes and all the seasonings.

Topping: Puree the roasted sweet potatoes.  Add egg.

Assembly:  Spread mixture into a casserole dish.  Spread sweet potatoes on top.  Sprinkle pumpkin seeds.

Next up…

Slow-Cooked Beef, Hatch Chile, Avocado Panini

Inspired by the Ahogada sandwich at Kerbey Lane

Ingredients:

  • 1 Ib. flank steak
  •  14.5oz can low-sodium beef broth
  • 1 Tbs. cumin
  • 2 Tbs. Braggs liquid aminos
  • 1 Tbs. chili powder
  • 1 Tbs. garlic powder
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 med red onion, sliced
  • 1 med avocado, sliced
  • 3 hatch chiles, roasted
  • Slices of cheese (I used mild cheddar)
  • 1/2 lime juice
  • 1 cup tomato sauce
  • Bread

Directions:

  1. Combine cumin, liquid aminos, chili powder, garlic powder , nutmeg in a bowl.  Rub all over flank steak.  Place in slow-cooker.  Add broth.    Cook for 6 hours on low.  *
  2. Roast hatch chiles.  When cool, peel the skin and rough slice.
  3. Carmelize onions.  Refer to this site for step by step instructions.
  4. Simmer tomato sauce.  Add lime juice.
  5. Slice avocado thinly.
  6. Assembly: Spread butter on the side of the bread that will face the panini grill.  Layer with a slice of cheese, beef, avocado, onions, hatch chile, another slice of cheese, and finally second piece of bread.  Close the grill and cook until done.
  7. In a shallow bowl, pour tomato sauce.  Place sandwich on top.  Dip generously as you devour!

* I slow-cooked the meat the night before so I could just assemble for lunch the next day.

Question:

Have you had hatch chiles before?  If so, let’s share recipes!  I still have 3 Ibs. left.

This entry was posted in Food, recipes, WIAW and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Hatch Chile Partay

  1. Corrie Anne says:

    I’ve never had them. But now I REALLY want to!!! I especially want to try that shepherd’s pie!!

  2. spabettie says:

    I love hatch chiles! I don’t think I have any actual (published) recipes to share… I make tamales and enchiladas with them a lot… I LOVE that sandwich idea!

  3. Hatch chilis are my favorite! Use them to make a salsa – soooo good! I don’t have a recipe, but I buy it a lot. Or you could make a Mexican quiche with them? Enchiladas? Sky’s the limit! 🙂

  4. I want that sandwich…that is all- YUM! (and this is coming from someone who doesn’t eat beef)!!

    • Min says:

      hahaha! Khushboo, you’re so hilarious! Just leave out the beef! I think the panini will still be delish from the chiles 😉

  5. Oh, your shepherd’s pie looks amazing! We are definitely on the same wavelength with sweet potato 🙂 I haven’t tried hatch chile though! I’ll have to look out for it.

  6. Michelle says:

    How nice to wake up to a new post from you, and with beautiful pictures to boot!
    I have never heard of hatch chiles – I will have to see if they sell them around here! Both recipes look amazing – I’ve only made shepherd’s pie once and it turned out a little bland. I think those peppers would be the perfect thing to spice it up!

    • Min says:

      Aww..thanks, Michelle! I’ve been having fun with my camera. 😉 You’ve never heard of them? gasp! You must try! Who knows? Maybe Greg will love them too! The shepherd’s pie I’ve tried tasted too rich for my liking..I must say this recipe was quite yummy 😉

  7. Yum!!! That panini looks so good. Great recipes. Never tried hatch chiles, may have to get onto that 😉

  8. I’ve never had a hatch chile before, but I have to imagine that I would love them! The recipes look great!

  9. Courtney says:

    I’ve never tried hatch chiles, but that panini looks amazing! 🙂

  10. eatpraytri says:

    ugh this is making me drool, drool, drool. Being from New Mexico I of course know of Hatch chilies and MISS THEM TERRIBLY!! I need a fix!! LOL.

  11. Lauren says:

    Your pictures are looking great, MIn! How funny that we both posted about sweet potatoes… 😉 I’ve never tried hatch chiles, but I like how they look here, and I love bison! I haven’t had it in a while, but I remember it being a healthier alternative to beef…less fat, more protein….tasty stuff!

    • Min says:

      Your sweet potato fries looks awesome! Thanks Lauren! I’m really having a lot of fun playing with my camera..so much to learn..so much to read up on..
      You know how much I LOVE my bison! def healthier, leaner, and satisfying!

  12. Min your photos look so great! And that panini is calling my name. I have never heard of hatch chiles but I know my husband would love them. Going to have to try them out! Maybe mixed with cheese as a stuffing for chicken breast?

  13. Wow, you are a serious chef!! I’ve never heard of hatch chiles, but they sound delicious, especially the way you prepared them 🙂 I love how you presented and photographed the food too, you have to give me some tips!!

  14. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday! « Amanda's Domestic Adventures

  15. I so want that Shepard’s pie right now- sweet potatoes are just amazing! Your panini looks fantastic, too!

  16. I LOVE hatch chilis. I used to eat them all the time when I lived in Texas. I did what you do and stocked up on them! I would stuff them with a jalapeno cream cheese mixture and then grill or roast them (don’t have the exact recipe anymore 😦 ). The jalapenos added a different kind of heat to the pepper (I leave the seeds in). I love hot and spicy foods so making them this way may not be for everyone haha. That shepherd’s pie looks great!

  17. Kym says:

    I’ve never had these magical chiles before! I hope to try them someday! and I totally feel you on the whole advertiser’s dream come true thing… i’m a sucker for things like “limited edition” “…today only” etc etc! haha!

  18. Brittany says:

    I have never had hatch chilis, but I know I would like them!! I love anything spicy!

  19. Yummy! I will have to try your recipes. 🙂

  20. I’m a little late reading your WIAW Wednesday this week but those recipes look delicious! I am so excited to have a Central Market again! I wonder if they have the chiles in Houston – I’m betting yes! I haven’t been over to Central Market yet so I’ll be checking when I go :). And your pictures just keep getting better and better! Beautiful! Hope you’re enjoying HLS!

  21. Jess says:

    Shepards pie with sweet potato is genius! I’d never thought to do that!

  22. I’ve never heard of hatch chiles before! It does look superb on that sandwich 🙂 I love chilies, I need to check where I can get them! Thanks for the inspiration!

  23. Pingback: Spotlight on a Superfruit: Avocado | savortherainbow

  24. Pingback: Black Bean Soup with Hatch Chile - The Adventures of MJ and Hungryman

Leave a Reply

