Kerbey Lane and MIMM

This weekend was full of many small sweet moments, and it’s these quiet yet tremendous wonders that energize and keep me going even when the going gets tough.  This past week was a bumpy ride, both emotionally and physically, but I feel rejuvenated and it’s definitely going to be a marvelous Monday.  Thanks, Katie, for this wonderful reminder  every week!

Tim and I have been pretty stingy with our time lately.  Because we don’t see each other much during the week, we have been just hanging out with each other on the weekends.  We have the best time together, but we realized that we’re not spending time and developing relationships with others.  God calls us to fellowship and experience life with others because that’s how we can embody the Lord’s amazing love.  So we’re going to do just that.  To start, this Saturday, we went on a brunch double date with our parents-to-be friends.  My friend is due any day now, so this may have been the last time we hung out as child-free couples.  We went to Kerbey Lane, which is my favorite brunch place here in Austin!  The wait was quite long, but we didn’t mind.  We had a LOT of catching up to do.

I wish I had taken more pictures, but I was soo busy talking and enjoying being in the moment that I decided to forego my blogger instincts.   I can be quite the social butterfly sometimes, don’t ya know ;).  I know I said last week that I’d be posting about my dining-out experiences every Monday, but will you forgive me this one time as I don’t have many pictures to tantalize you with?  However, I did manage to take a quick snap of my dish!  Ta-da!  Can you guess what kind of burger this is?

From the best buttermilk pancake in town to hummus and pita, Tex-Mex migas and enchiladas, gluten free, vegetarian, and vegan options, Kerbey Lane caters to diverse palates.  As they work closely with local vendors and mom and pop stores, they build their menus based on what’s in season.

I’ve been here many times, and every time I end up ordering pancakes, despite my efforts to try something new.  It’s hard not to when they have flavors such as lemon poppyseed, gingerbread, apple whole wheat, and blueberry.  Mmmm…

However, I finally succeeded today!  I ordered the Hippy Burger – homemade veggie patty topped with lettuce, tomato, avocado and red onion on a wheat bun.  It was THE BEST veggie burger I’ve ever tried!  The patty was so thick, earthy, and flavorful!  I didn’t get to enjoy it as much as I would have because I was so engrossed in the conversation (and yes, I talk with my mouth full…sexy!  Tim just loves this).  I definitely want to go back and enjoy it in complete silence.  Just me and the burger.

Tim ordered the Ahogada sandwich – pork carnitas, avocado, caramelized onions, on panini bread served in a bowl of tomato lime jus!  It was such a unique sandwich, and Tim loved every bite.  I wish I had gotten a picture of it!  I’m def going to try to recreate it for sure!  This is why I love going out to eat.  I get so inspired, and it gives me that itch to create my own version.

The rest of the weekend was spent catching up on the happenings of the Olympics as Tim and I couldn’t watch it together during the week, playing with Kona, cooking and baking…just small things around the house.  As I’m preparing to leave for the HLS later this week(!!!!!), I’ve got lots of meal planning to do and dishes to make ahead of time so that Tim will enjoy think of me while I’m gone ;).

The other day, my box of 20 Ibs of ground bison individually packaged into 1 Ib freezer safe portions was delivered!  It’s perfect because any recipes with ground meat, such as bolognese sauce, casseroles… freeze so perfectly!

While I was busy making a mess in the kitchen, Tim did the laundry, including folding and putting it away.  He’s definitely a keeper, no?  I don’t mind throwing everything in the machine, but I don’t do folding.  I just crumple everything and stuff it into the drawers.   Tim who’s very anal and meticulous could no longer tolerate this, so he took over the duty a couple of months ago.  I couldn’t be happier.  My clothes are wrinkle-free..pretty…and so inviting to wear ;).  And without getting too close for comfort, notice how my underwear’s the size of my palm!  Yea..he’s that good hehe.

And of course, my day wouldn’t be complete without obsessing thinking about my nephew, Noah.  Just look at him…He’s quite the happy boy ;). ALWAYS smiling!  He is.so.precious!!  And he sure is following in his uncle’s footsteps in loving his burgers.

So this just about wraps up this week’s addition of MIMM ;).

Hope you guys have an awesome week!  And for those of you guys attending the HLS, I can’t wait to meet in person soon!

This entry was posted in Austin Eats, Faith, Family, Food, Friends, Fun, MIMM and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Kerbey Lane and MIMM

  1. that sounds like a fun brunch date!!! It can be really hard when you’re dating someone to make sure you’re still investing in other relationships, but it sounds like you’re doing that 🙂 That’s awesome!

    • Min says:

      I think Tim and I were better about hanging out with other people before we got married. After we got married, we just became hermits and hibernate at home hehe

  2. Wow, that burger looks GREAT- my mouth is watering! Jealous about you guys going to HLS- am sure it will be a blast! Between Tim’s folding & your cooking, you two make quite the team :)! Have a great day!

    • Min says:

      Hehe! Yup! I’m glad we can work together so beautifully. 😉 However, I recognize that I do nag a lot! Sssh…Don’t tell him I admitted to that. That veggie burger was soo satisfying! Def going back again!

  3. Michelle says:

    I was pretty jealous when I saw the picture of that burger on Instagram – it looks so yummy! I still have never had a veggie burger so I need to get on that! And how cool that you order your own bison! Now that I’ve finally tried it a few times, I might have to look into that! Although we usually have a lot of venison because the guys in my family deer hunt and I have to try and find ways to use it up!
    Noah is SO adorable!!! Look at that smiling face 🙂
    You are going to have so much fun at HLS! I wish I could go so we could meet!! You’ll have to just pretend I am there with you!

    • Min says:

      I’m still not used to using instagram..I don’t really take pictures on my iPhone. But thought this burger was worthy enough to bust it out for once ;). Right? It really didn’t look like a veggie burger at all!! It’s usually very thin, but not this one! mmm…I order it from this site: buffalogal.com. It is pricey, but it’s quality meat that I can trust. It’s cheaper when you buy in bulk and they have this on sale frequently. It’s just so nice to always have it on hand. I don’t get ground beef just because I don’t trust it, thanks to my agriculture class.

      I went deer hunting once with a groups of my friends! Was quite an experience I must say. Well..it was boring..we just sad around waiting to hear faint footsteps. I kept wanting to turn abruptly and look..but I couldn’t even do that. I had to tilt my head ever so slowly and slightly if I wanted to catch a glimpse of the beautiful creature. I’m kinda loud so I think I scared most of them away. To make long story short, I was never invited again :(.

      I’m an obsessed auntie! Can you blame me? And I wish you were going to!!! Next time!

  4. Courtney says:

    I can’t get over how cute Noah is 🙂 and that veggie burger looks delicious!!

  5. I love when I find a veggie burger that is juicy and delicious.

  6. Lauren says:

    Oh my goodness, Noah is the cutest baby ever! I told my husband ‘I want to adopt him!’ when I saw his picture! Have a great time at HLS! I wish I could be there….

  7. What a gorgeous little nephew! Enjoy HLS! 😀

  8. I’m glad you were able to connect with friends over the weekend! That burger looks so good! Most veggie burgers are tiny patties but that one is thick which is awesome. I love your little nephew, he is SO cute!

    • Min says:

      Yea..I realized we haven’t seen them in over 6 months! We had fun catching up! Yup..I know exactly what you mean. That’s why I’d rather make them myself than order at restaurants. They tend to add a lot of filler. But this one’s winner! Right? It’s not just because he’s my nephew! He IS freakin adorable 😉

  9. Brittany says:

    That burger looks amazing!! I have never had a veggie burger be that thick! He is an awesome folder.. can I borrow him??

    • Min says:

      I think you would’ve really liked the burger, Brittany! So thick, hearty, and earthy tasting! Full of flavor, moist, and didn’t taste like it was full of fillers! Oh, I think TIm would LOVE to fold for you guys! Oddly enough, he finds it very therapeutic! Not complaining..fine by me 😉

  10. erinmotz says:

    Such great pictures! That burger looks fantastic. I’ve never really liked the taste of veggie burgers because I always feel like it’s trying to be beef when it clearly isn’t, haha. Does that even make sense?! And WOW @ the frozen bison! Where did you get that? I’d love to do that, too!

    • Min says:

      Yea! I know exactly what you mean! I usually don’t order veggie burgers at restaurants for that reason. Lots of fillers, dry like hockey puck, and off-putting texture..However, this one was soo good! I actually didn’t miss the meat! I order it from http://www.buffalogal.com . It’s not cheap, but it’s more economical since you’re buying in bulk. The most impt thing is that I can trust that the meat is high quality. I never buy ground beef so this works great! It’s just so great to have on hand! Freezes beautifully also. The 20 Ibs ground bison package goes on sale frequently..if you’re interested 😉

  11. I can’t get over how adorable your nephew is!! Such a cutie–that smile in infectious! 😀

    Kerby Lane sounds like a fun brunch spot! I’d love to visit Austin, solely to explore all the incredible restaurants (and to see you, of course!). Congratulations on overcoming your pancake desires and trying something new! Even though lemon poppyseed and gingerbread pancakes certainly are alluring (yum), they will be there next time. 😉 The veggie burger you ordered looks delicious, as do those crinkly sweet potato fries (I think?) by its side.

    Tim is definitely a keeper! A husband who who folds and puts away laundry is hard to come by. Are there more where he came from? 😉

    I can’t wait to meet you in a few days!!! ❤ xoxoxo

    • Min says:

      I miss Noah…Need to go see him soon! Trying to convince my sis to move to Austin 😉
      Yes yes! Come visit Austin! I think you’ll love it here! And yes they are sweet potato fries..so crunchy and meaty. They def know what they’re doing!

      Hahahah!! I’m sure! I’ll be sure to ask him..And seriously, I can’t wait to meet you and actually hear your voice 😉

  12. I love reading your blog! You are so similar to me and your posts always make me smile! Especially kona sitting by his dad while he folds laundry 🙂

    • Min says:

      Aww! Thanks, Laurie! You jus made my day ;). I LOVE your blog too! And of course Milo bear!! Kona never leaves our side..he’s a very needy child

  13. Corrie Anne says:

    SO awesome that he folds the laundry. My folding is horrific, but I have a LOT more free time on my hands so I’m the one who does it!

  14. This veggie burger looks to die for! I thought for sure it was real meat until I read below! I love avocado on veggie burgers:)

  15. Gabby says:

    When I went to Kerbey Lane, that’s exactly what I had – hippie burger with sweet potato fries! I agree with you; it was a great veggie burger!

  16. I love when you find a place that has a great alternative burger. I’m not a vegetarian, but I love a good veggie burger any day. Btw…I LOVE the yellow/gray dress!

  17. Min says:

    I’m with you! The hubby LOVES burgers so we go check out different places quite frequently, and I like trying alternative burgers ;). Thanks Lena! I think I got it at Target LONG time ago!

  18. Pingback: A New Semester | savortherainbow

  19. Pingback: A New Semester - The Adventures of MJ and Hungryman

  20. Pingback: Hatch Chile Partay - The Adventures of MJ and Hungryman

Leave a Reply

