WIAW #4

August is here.  We all know that summer can be quite brutal.  Multiple showers in a day, the ever so sexy armpit sweat marks, loss of appetite, and my quickly diminishing patience and understanding makes me lovely company during this time of the year.

However, there are amazing things that come with summer also, such as going to the beach, grilling, rocking the latest colorful fashion trends (anyone loving the color orange?), watching summer blockbusters (still haven’t seen The Dark Knight Rises), eating fro-yo…. This year, the Summer Olympics is definitely the highlight for me.

Summer is also an awesome time to kick up your produce intake to a whole new level, thanks to the bounty of in-season selections!  Check out this website to see a list of fresh produce in your area!  Or I bet you can tell just by looking at what’s on sale at your local grocery store.  How about trying out something from that list that you normally don’t consume or cook with.  It’d be a great way to get out of a food rut if you’re in one.  I saw that turnips are in season in Texas this month.  I hardly cook with them so I’ll be recipe hunting now ;).

I’m also looking forward to the summer bc Jenn has decided on Summer Staples for this month’s theme of WIAW!

Can’t wait to share some of my staples as well as read about and incorporate some of yours into my routine!

Here’s a look at what I ate on Monday.  My appetite is surprisingly off to a great start!  It was a happy day for my tummy.

Pre-workout:

Banana, hardboiled egg, handful of almonds.  No picture.  But you get the idea.

Post-workout:

Protein shake and a slice of PB&J.  I wanted to eat it within the 30 min window so no picture.

Lunch:

Roasted eggplant stuffed with ground bison meat, veggies and topped with Greek yogurt dressing.  And yes, a squirt of sriracha is a must!  Be on the lookout for this recipe!  It’s a keeper ;).  The husband, who does not like greek yogurt (gasp!) and eggplant, gave it a 9!

Dinner

Nothing impressive with this one.  Not so pretty to look at either.  But it sure was satisfying.  It was veggie clean-up day – salmon, kale, zucchini (I was lazy and chopped it Flintstone style), heirloom tomatoes, chickpeas, cucumber, nutritional yeast, drizzled with dressing comprised of apple cider vinegar and honey dijon mustard.  And yes, the sriracha (or what’s left of it) makes its appearance once again.  It goes with everything!  even…

hummus..

Other snacks eaten throughout the day…

First of all, if you haven’t tried this chocolate, go get it now!  The three flavors together are a force to be reckoned with.  Remember that Biscoff spread that I discovered the other day?  Well, it’s amazing stuff.  In the picture you see it nicely spread on a piece of toast, but that’s not the only way I enjoyed it.  In reality, my finger made its way in the jar multiple times throughout the day.  The finger is the best utensil at times like these.  I know I know..it’s quite unsanitary.  Oh wells, moving on…to pluots..I’ve never had these before either!  The only reason I bought them was because they were on sale at Whole Foods.  They were incredibly juicy and sweet and reminded me of a cross between plums and apricots…ahh I see..hence the name!  Bear with me, please, for I am a lil’ slow…so I’ve been told.

As far as fitness goes, even though the food and fitness theme is over, I really enjoyed reading about your workout routines and insightful tips.  So I do hope that you continue to post them!

I’m still enjoying the group classes, but they’re pretty high-intensity workouts.  My heart rate stays in heart rate zone 4, which is def not where I want to be.  I’m going to scale it down a lil bit this month and incorporate more yoga practice into my regimen.

Mon: I showed up at the gym to do the Strictly Strength class when to my dismay, I learned that the class was actually for Sunday.  Then something amazing happened.  One of the trainers took pity on me, and out of the goodness of her heart, walked me through a TRX workout.  There was a lot of talking involved since I asked her a bazillion questions.  I can be so annoying sometimes!!  However, she was so incredibly sweet and patient and gave me some really helpful tips to take away!

I was motivated to do more, and even though I went to the gym unprepared, thanks to my iPhone and Natalie, I followed her amazing summer arm circuit routine!  If you haven’t met her yet, oh boy, you’re missing out!  She’s one phenomenal girl with a fresh zest for life!  So go check out her blog!!

Tues: I went to a 5:30 am hot vinyasa class.  Summer means sleeping in so I haven’t gone to this class for about 2 months now.  However, it looks like I’ll be waking up early on Tues and Thurs from now on.

Wed:  Today I’m going to my fav class – barbell strength training.  As of last week, I added 2 more Ibs. to my bar!  I know it’s not much, but it’s a huge feat for me!  I’m getting stronger…one Ib. at a time! 😉

Question:

– What are you loving this summer?

– What produce is in your fridge right now?  

This entry was posted in Fitness, Food, Fun, WIAW and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to WIAW #4

  1. Happy WIAW! Your roasted eggplant looks great. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. I love stuffing any kind of veggie I can! The eggplant looks awesome, and the addition of the buffalo meat sounds delicious!

  3. Dark chocolate with pear and almond?! Holy yum!!!

    And yes, summer is the perfect excuse to buy tons of produce!!! I love it!

    • Min says:

      Gotta take full advantage of the unbeatable prices!! I wish figs were cheaper…
      Oh and the chocolate..out of this world!! It’s now my new favorite!!

  4. Chocolate with pear and almond…sounds incredible!!!

  5. Happy first day of August! This year is going by so, so fast.
    All your eats look great!

    What am I loving this summer? Fruit and nice weather. 🙂

  6. Wooo hoo on increasing your barbell weight- nice going! I cant get enough produce in the summer- current favorites are apples, pomengranate, zucchini and squash!

    • Min says:

      Thanks! Today’s class was kinda eh..The instructor showed up late, was tired, and therefore didn’t push us hard enough. I felt like I stood around most of the time with the barbell resting on my shoulder..
      I haven’t had any pomegranate yet this summer! How did I let this happen?

  7. Your photography lessons are definitely working because your pictures are beautiful! If a good groupon deal comes up for a workshop in Houston I’m going to jump on it – photography is not my thing yet! I’m loving zucchini and summer squash!

    • Min says:

      Oh, thank you! My friend’s actually been giving me tips here and there. Since I’m not going back to school until end of this month (gasp), I’m just clicking away every chance I get. Practice and playing around with it is key!
      And I love all your squash recipes!

  8. Dark chocolate pear almond? What? That sounds so good! My fridge is FINALLY stocked with produce after last night’s grocery shopping trip!

  9. Aw thanks for the shout out Min! i think YOU are wonderful! Love the food re-cap. That dark chocolate pear and almond looks delicious. Hope you have a wonderful day!

  10. I think your dinner is very pretty! And I can’t wait for the stuffed eggplant recipe. I’d love to do something like that, but with tempeh rather than red meat. 🙂

    This summer I’ve been loving all of the summer squashes. They are just so sweet right now!

    • Min says:

      Ooh…bet that would be good too!
      Squashes are so versatile, aren’t they? So many ways to enjoy them! And I LOVE how ginormous (and cheap) they are right now!

  11. Courtney says:

    YES I am loving orange right now! And in my fridge is raspberries, salad greens, snap peas, bell peppers, and lots of hummus 😛

    • Min says:

      Ooh snap peas..I haven’t had those in awhile..I have those dried snap pea crisps..have you tried them? really good! And yes I always have hummus in my fridge..all year round 😉

  12. Jen Lake says:

    That chocolate sounds do good – wishing we had a whole foods! Pluots are so great. I love plums but always worry I’ll pick ones that are too tart.. Not a problem with Pluots!

    • Min says:

      Yup! So true..it’s hit or miss with those plums. Do you have Trader Joe’s in your area? If you do, I envy you! I guess you always want what you don’t have..

  13. Do I love the color orange? I LOVE it! I actually think “obsessed” is more fitting. 😉 Half of my summer wardrobe is orange (preferably a bright shade coupled with neon pink). Yesterday I bought a pink/orange iPhone case and bright orange/coral Nike Frees. Come winter, I’m going to look at my things and regret all of these purchases! But I sure am enjoying the bright colors right now!

    All of your eats look delicious! I’m looking forward to that eggplant/bison/Greek yogurt recipe; it sounds very similar to a dish I used to love ordering at a Greek restaurant (made with ground lamb though). And that salmon! I think it’s impressive AND pretty!

    The pear-almond chocolate sounds MUCH better than that beef jerky stuff we both picked up. 😉 I’ll have to search for that once I’m back in DC (no Whole Foods in Boise!)

    What I’m loving right now: raspberries, avocados, watermelon, goat cheese and Brussels sprouts!

  14. Min says:

    Colors are soo fun! I don’t know how I went through most of my life with a wardrobe that consisted of black, brown..and black. I guess I’m making up for those sad, pitiful years. I am LOVING anything coral! Apparently Shu Uemura orange 55 blush is amazing! Has quite a cult following 😉
    Oh yes, I def wasn’t scared to taste this one ;). I love everything on that list..except for goat cheese. I do have brie in the fridge at all times!

  15. StoriesAndSweetPotatoes says:

    That eggplant thing looks awesome! I do not like eggplant but looove bison. I haven’t had any in a long time actually.

  16. Min says:

    Bison is my favorite red meat! I actually order it from a farm..I have 20 Ibs. of individually packaged ground bison in my freezer right now! Such a wonderful feeling ;). My husband hates eggplant but he really liked this one. I’ll be posting the recipe soon if you’re interested!

  17. Ellie says:

    Omgsh I’ve always wanted to try bison meat! I’m so curious about the taste~And guess what! since you mentioned WF’s oikos yogurt sale, I got a bunch yesterday 🙂

    • Min says:

      Oh Ellie! It’s so delish! I order the meat from a buffalo ranch in Kansas (20 Ibs at a time). I know it sounds like a lot, but we end up saving a lot of money this way. It’s def leaner and taste “gamier.” I think it’s a lot heartier than beef.
      Ooh! Yay! you’re all stocked up now too!! I think honey is my fav flavor 😉

  18. Michelle says:

    Min!!!
    Okay so many things!!
    1) I cannot wait to see that eggplant recipe! Oh em gee that looks amazing 🙂
    2) And that CHOCOLATE! What a unique combination of flavors -but it sounds delicious.
    3) Those classes at the gym sound amazing! I miss taking classes. I always did them in college but don’t have a gym membership right now. But I’ll have one once school starts in a few weeks.

    I can’t wait for school to start this fall and we can talk about it all the time 🙂

    • Min says:

      Hehe..you always put a smile on my face 🙂
      I’m actually typing up the recipe right now so come see me again tomorrow hehe.
      The chocolate taste as amazing as it sounds! So good!
      I’m def getting stronger from doing these classes. However, I make a conscious effort to tone it down a lil’, since I have a tendency to overdo it.
      Oh school…I’m dreading it right now, but I’m sure once classes start, I’ll get back into swing of things. The classes I’m taking this semester are going to be really fun and interesting : Medical Nutrition Therapy, Biotechnology (apparently the hardest class ever), and Nutrition and Disease. What about you?

  19. Brittany says:

    Your eats look amazing!! Can I come over?? 😉 I love the new blog look!!

  20. Min says:

    Ooh yes yes! Tim and I would LOVE to have you and Luvy over at our place!! I still have some eggplants leftover. I’ll stuff them with lentils and lots of veggies for all of us to enjoy ;). But I have to consider sharing my chocolate..muhaha 😉
    Oh, I’m glad you like the makeover. Just changing the font, color, theme, and getting a custom header made all the difference in the world!

  21. I love that you put Sriracha on everything, it makes everything taste better…well, most things 😉 Can’t wait for your stuffed eggplant recipe, looks awesome!

    We are loving fresh fruits right now…cherries and peaches are current faves, along with strawberries, cantaloupe and pineapple. I love it when my body craves these things for dessert/snacks…although I’m definitely going to have to go hunting for that chocolate at WF 🙂

    • Min says:

      Oh yes yes! I actually didn’t really care for sriracha until Tim came into my life. He’s a keeper ;).
      I somehow imagine fruits in Hawaii to be a lot more juicier, fresher, and tastier!! Oh..I would love to eat some pineapple and mangoes (the one that Patrick is allergic to..poor guy) while laying out and reading on the beach! Oh there’s WF there too? Awesome!!

      • I happen to have a ton of local mangoes in our freezer, but I feel bad using them to make anything since Patrick can’t eat it! I’m thinking of making my own mango sorbet this weekend and sharing it with my folks. Wish I could share some with you and Tim too!!

        Yes, they opened a WF at the mall right by our house a few years ago, and there are others on the island! Now all we need is Trader Joe’s 🙂

  22. Kailey says:

    I love roasted eggplant – it always tatse so delicious 🙂 I’ve never had bison thought, but I am dying to try it. Heard it taste like red meat but less saturated fat!

Leave a Reply

