My First Foodie PenPal

I love getting packages.  I love giving gifts.  I love food.  I wonder why it took me so long to join the Foodie PenPal program hosted by the lovely Lindsay!

The Lean Green Bean

It’s ok bc it’s never too late to join!  What an awesome way to end the month of July by revealing what my first PenPal, Katy, sent me and also by checking out other people’s goodies ;).

I should’ve taken a picture of the box, but I was too eager to open and fish out the surprise that awaited me.

Katy is from New Orleans so she sent me some of her favorites from her hometown.  Of course, I’ve had Tony’s Creole seasoning before, but everything else was new to me.

It’s no secret that Zapp’s makes some mean potato chips.  However, I’ve never had their Voodoo flavor.  It was perfectly crunchy and the flavor was out of this world.  It was vinegary, tomatoey, and definitely on the sweeter side.  Very unique, that’s for sure!  When I was young, whenever I opened up a bag of Lay’s, I always separated the curly chips from the flat ones.  I gladly ate the curly ones, which in my opinion are far superior, and graciously got rid of shared the flat ones with my friends.  Apparently, old habits die hard.  I’ll be packing the hubby all the flat ones ;).

The hubby was especially ecstatic to see the root beer since he’s quite the aficionado.  Made me happy seeing him enjoy it so much!!

The first and last time I went to Louisiana was during my junior year in high school for an orchestra trip.  I don’t remember everything, but those beignets I tasted were unforgettable!  I haven’t had a decent beignet since then, so I am very eager to try Cafe Du Monde’s Beignet Mix.  However, I know that my nursing sister, with her healthy appetite, would surely like to sink her teeth into the doughy pillows.  So out of the goodness of my heart, I’m going to save it for the next time I go see her.  I’m such a great sister, aren’t I?  Or is it because I need something from her? Muhahahhha 😉

Thank you, Katy, once again for sharing a piece of Louisiana with me and my family.  Yes, Kona will get to enjoy some too, whether we mean for him to or not ;).

Don’t you want to join in on the fun?  You don’t even have to be a blogger as it’s open to everyone!

Sign up by August 4th if you want to participate!   Just fill out the form and read the terms and conditions.  It’s that easy!

 

This entry was posted in Food, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My First Foodie PenPal

  1. Yoonie says:

    Oh my goodness… Come to me beignets…
    You are the best sister EVER!!!

  2. Your stuff looks great!! I love how everyone incorporates their hometown, such a fun program 🙂

  3. Those voodoo chips are intriguing! Fun to find another healthy living/Christian blogger out there!

  4. Courtney says:

    Beignets are amazing! Now you have me craving some 😛

  5. Love the New Orleans theme! Beignets are the best!

  6. Ellie says:

    oh man oh mannnn I saw that beignet box once at World Market! And now I really wanna try it. I’ve had beignets only once when I was in high school French class!!! mmmm…:) And blech! I don’t know why, but root beer is one flavor I don’t enjoy, haha. I don’t know why…maybe because it’s such an “american” flavor? And I remember when I immigrated here from Argentina, I was all about my homeland and anything that reminded me of too much American didn’t taste good. I guess now it’s stuck with me!

    • Min says:

      I know!! I can’t wait to try it…Looks like I’m going to have to go see my sister very soon 😉
      And I can def relate to what you mean..I actually don’t like root beer either. I have sips here and there bc Tim loves it, but I’m still not digging it. I think Korean sodas are the best!! Oh, I love me some milkis!!

  7. Michelle says:

    What an amazing package of goodies!! I’ve only had beignets once (in french class in high school) but they were so amazing! Can I come over and have some with you?? 🙂

    • Min says:

      Yes yes!! I would love to share them with you!! Ooh..you took French in hs also? Me too!! The sole reason – everyone was taking Spanish, and I wanted to be different. Now I ask myself…what was I thinking?!?! Living in Texas, Spanish would def have come in handy :(. Oh wells..

  8. How fun! I’ve always wanted to go to New Orleans and sit down to a fresh batch of beignets 🙂 My college roommates had talked about doing a girl’s weekend there, but we have yet to make the plans! Your package looks like the next best thing 🙂 You are so sweet to save some for your sister!

  9. Min says:

    That would be such a fun, memorable trip! Hope you guys make it to the Big Easy soon!

  10. What a fun time! Keep us posted on that beignet mix 🙂

Leave a Reply

