Sweet Potatoes Meet Kimchi and Hummus

As promised, here are the recipes to two surprisingly tasty creations I made earlier this week.  I had sweet potatoes and a jar of fermented cabbage taking up much-needed space in  my fridge.  My sometimes questionable creative juices spit out a sweet potato and kimchi pancake :o, and I rolled with it.

Sweet Potato and Kimchi Pancake

Serving size: 6 pancakes | Prep time: 40 min | Cooking time: 10 min

Ingredients

  • 2 med sweet potatoes, mashed *
  • 3/4 cup kimchi, chopped bite-sized **
  • 1/2 med onion, chopped
  • 1/2 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 cup tofu, crumbled
  • 2 Tbs. almond milk
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat breadcrumbs
  • Canola oil for frying, approx 6 Tbs. divided
  • 1/4 cup chickpea flour **
  • 2 eggs

* You can either steam, boil, or roast them.  I roasted mine in the oven for about 30 min at 400F.  Avoid overcooking – still need to have some firmness or else it will fall apart!

Another option is just to julienne and incorporate into the batter.  This will result in a crispier pancake.

** Any kind of flour should work…I would think.  If anything else, it will be fun to experiment 😉

Dipping Sauce

  • 2 Tbs. low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 Tbs. rice vinegar
  • 1 Tbs. honey

Directions

  1. Roast sweet potatoes.
  2. Mash after they’ve cooled and set aside.
  3. Prepare dipping sauce and set aside.
  4. In a med pan over med high heat, add 1 Tbs. EVOO and cook kimchi, onion, peppers in that order.  Mix and cook until veggies softened, approx 5 min.
  5. When cool, combine with sweet potatoes.  Add crumbled tofu.
  6. Add milk and breadcrumbs.
  7. Form the mixture into a 3/4 to 1 in thick round patty.
  8. Coat in flour, then in egg.
  9. Fry the  pancake in canola oil until browned, approx 3 min per side.  Be sure not to overcrowd the pan.
  10. Remove from pan and serve with sauce.

Steps 2, 3, 4, 6

I loved the crunchiness and the spiciness that the kimchi added to this otherwise sweet pancake.  And of course the dipping sauce is optional, but as I’m a sucker for the salty-sweet combination, I thought this took it up another notch.

Now, I wasn’t about to turn on my oven in this 100 degree weather  just to roast 2 measly sweet potatoes!  Gotta make the most of the situation, right?  So what did I do with the rest?  I had just cooked a huge batch of dry chickpeas, and I didn’t have any hummus already made in the fridge.  So…no brainer!  Time to get my sweet potato hummus on!

Sweet Potato Hummus

Recipe adapted from Barefoot Contessa

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups chickpeas
  • 1 1/2 Tsp. kosher salt
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/3 cup tahini
  • 6 Tbs. lemon juice (2 lemons)
  • 2 Tbs water or liquid from chickpeas
  • 1 med sweet potato
  • Paprika, for garnish

Directions:

Place all ingredients into a food processor and process until hummus is coarsely pureed.   Taste for seasoning.  Scoop into a bowl and sprinkle paprika on top.

Question: 

Aside from roasting, what is your favorite way to enjoy sweet potatoes?  Any recipes welcomed!! 🙂  

This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Sweet Potatoes Meet Kimchi and Hummus

  1. I’m definitely going to give your sweet potato hummus a try, sounds delicious!! The barefoot contessa’s recipe is my go-to for hummus too! I love just a simple baked sweet potato, or homemade sweet potato fries with cinnamon on top 🙂

    • Min says:

      Who can resist The Barefoot Contessa! ;). Love her recipes minus ones involving blue cheese as you know. Yum..Love sweet potato fries! Hope you have a wonderful day, Maura!!

  2. I never thought of sweet potato hummus before, but it looks awesome!

  3. Sweet potato hummus has been on my “to make” list lately! I’m sort of obssesed with sweet potatoes lately 🙂 And my boyfriend (and me!) would LOVE those pancakes! YUM!

  4. Min says:

    I’m always obsessed with them 😉 I’m known as the sweet potato killer in my family. And the addition of kimchi was quite nice, even I may say so myself 😉

  5. eatpraytri says:

    loving that first picture. Dang those look good. I actually think I dont like sweet potatoes. I say think b/c I know I have had them and didn’t like them but it has been YEARS since I have tried them again. I actually have been meaning to get back into it and try them again!

  6. Lauren says:

    Aw man! I was just at Trader Joe’s staring at a big bag of organic sweet potatoes, thinking, ‘hmmm….those look good…’. Now I definitely need to go back and buy them because I must try that hummus! Do you buy your kimchi or make it? I had a friend who used to make her own, and I’ve always wanted to try, but haven’t yet.

  7. Courtney says:

    Sweet potato fries are my favorite! With some sea salt… yummmm 🙂

  8. I so need to try that hummus!! I love sweet potatoes coconut milk soups!

  9. I am so excited to try these cakes! I already pinned it. 🙂

    sweet potatoes are my favorite. On my blog, I have a sweet potato protein “ice cream,” raw sweet potato hummus, sweet potato yogurt… and about a billion more. Basically I’m shocked I’m not orange. LOL!

  10. holy moses drooling. You are one creative girl in the kitchen.

  11. This sounds great! I need to try that hummus!

  12. Ooh, what great recipes! I definitely need to try that sweet potato hummus 🙂

  13. i want to try both of these – thanks for the recipes!!!

  14. Pingback: Valentine’s Day Weekend – Fishing with Friends | savortherainbow

  15. Pingback: Valentine's Day Weekend - Fishing with Friends - The Adventures of MJ and Hungryman

Leave a Reply

