WIAW #2 Eats from the Big Apple!

I’m finally back from spending some wonderful quality time with beautiful people and savoring scrumptious foods that had my tastebuds doing the cha cha in the city that never sleeps!

I’ll fill you guys in on all the fun and delicious details soon, but for now, let’s get right into WIAW hosted by Jenn!

My fridge was looking quite pitiful, so the first thing I did when I got home was head straight to HEB, a local grocery store, and Costco.  Now I feel complete…until I get back into the swing of things, of course.

Here’s a look at what I ate this past Saturday.

Breakfast:

Eaten at the apartment with the impressive view of the city!  I wouldn’t mind waking up to this every morning!

The view from the apt

Some yogurt (Dannon non-fat vanilla) + Quaker’s granola, apple slices, handful of almonds

Lunch

My brother and sister-in-law treated us to Union Square Cafe, a cozy NY eatery with a simple yet elegant ambience, worthy to be featured in a movie.  The restaurant is conveniently located near the Green Market, its primary produce source.   Therefore, the menu changes according to the freshest ingredients available.

We started out with calamari served with spicy anchovy mayo.  I was a bit hesitant and uneasy about the sauce for the calamari, but boy was it a blissful union!  As a result, it was the best calamari I’ve ever tasted!  The sauce was nothing like I’ve ever tasted before.  Tangy, salty, and creamy without being overpowering.  Genius, I tell ya!

Excuse the finger..my fellow diners didn’t have the patience to wait and were quite annoyed w my excessive picture taking.

For my main entree, I ordered Wild Sockeye Salmon served alongside smoked tomato coulis, fennel, and fava beans.  I demolished it in record time!  I’ve been making a conscious effort  to change my “speed of lightning” eating pace to chewing slowly and savoring each bite.  I failed miserably this time, but it was beyond my control.  The salmon was so buttery, smooth, delicate, and flavorful!  Absolutely exquisite!  It paired beautifully with the bright and fresh accompaniment.  I’d like to note that the fava beans were the biggest that I’ve ever seen!

Tim ordered the Crispy Soft Shell Crab dish served with tomato gazpacho, avocado, and creme fraiche rather than his initial choice of Lamb Chops, after he found out that the crabs were in season.  I’m not a big fan of eating exoskeleton, but it was clear that Tim enjoyed it very much.

I didn’t eat this, but the presentation was so beautiful that it HAD to be included!

With our bellies full, we walked around the Green Market, which was quite the happening place on a Sat afternoon!  Live music, diverse crowd of people, colorful and impressive selection of goodies = a great time.

Dinner

Kum Kang San is a famous Korean restaurant located in Flushing.  Apparently, it’s a popular place to which local Koreans often take their visiting families.  I opted for “물냉면, Mool Naeng Myung.”  It’s a noodle dish made of buckwheat noodles topped with a hard-boiled egg, sliced cucumbers, sliced Asian pear, and a slice of brisket all in a cold, vinegary beef broth.  To it, spicy mustard sauce and additional vinegar are added to taste.  A perfect dish on a hot, sticky day!  As it is one of my favorite eats during the brutal summer months, I often make this at home and can’t wait to share the recipe with y’all soon!

We also cannot go to a Korean restaurant and not order “갈비, Kalbi,” Korean short ribs.  That would be a sin.  The marinade was perfect.  Not too salty, which is what I more often than not complain about when it comes to the ones served at restaurants.  It’s best when eaten as a wrap consisting of lettuce, rice, one slice of Kalbi, kimchi, and fermented soybean paste.  The fatter the better!  If you want to shut someone up at the table, graciously offer to make him/her one of these…

Dessert

Although we were all stuffed, how could we not end the day on a sweet note?!?  That’s unimaginable in my book!  We ended up at Caffe Bene located in the heart of Times Square and shared a strawberry “팥빙수, Patbingsu,” a shaved ice dessert composed of sweetened red beans, condensed milk, ice cream, mochi, and strawberries (both the fruit and the syrup).  It was quite refreshing.  Surprisingly, my tummy made some extra room for it that I didn’t know I had.  Funny how that alway happens.

And yes that’s a mermaid Barbie in the background, my 4 yr old niece’s bday present from us…It followed us everywhere!

A glorious day of eats, indeed! 🙂

By the time we left the cafe, it was raining outside.  That didn’t stop us from taking a stroll around Times Square, though.

No, I did not use a bump-it. The rain turned our hair beastly.  Don’t you just love it when that happens?

Fitness

I went back to the basics this week – walking.  I wish I had taken a pedometer with me bc I’m pretty sure thousands and thousands of steps were taken.  My digestive system definitely thanked the city’s pedestrian friendly system.

Going through all the pictures from the trip makes me wish that it could’ve lasted longer!  However, one more day, and I think my tummy would’ve thrown in the towel.

Today, I’m going to catch up on all the happenings that I missed out on in the blogging world.  Can’t wait!!

*** The winner of the Slimkicker giveaway is Girlie Valencia!  Please email the team at slimkicker.com to claim your prize!!  Congrats!!

This entry was posted in Family, Fitness, Food, Fun, WIAW and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to WIAW #2 Eats from the Big Apple!

  1. So glad you had a wonderful trip!! The food looks amazing, especially the dessert…I love those shave ice desserts with ice cream/mochi/azuki beans 🙂 What a great shot of you and Tim in Times Square too! Hope you are settling in…I’m always happy to be home and sleep in my own bed even when I’ve just had a great vacation 🙂

    • Min says:

      Hi, Maura! I’m playing catch up right now, as I made a conscious effort to unplug during this trip. I def need a vacation from this vacation. And yes, I def missed my bed! Good to be home :). Oh, and thank you for the recommendation! I ordered it on Amazon ;). Yay!!

  2. Carol says:

    That was a great NY getaway. It’s always nice to be with family. I’m full! All that food looks delicious … the short ribs – oh oh oh yum! Every dish!!!!!! Nice picture of you and your husband. Glad your trip was enjoyable and glad to have you back.

  3. That Korean restaurant looks great! You always know a good Asian restaurant if the natives go there 🙂 And walking in NYC is always a great workout! When I go, I never take the subway or cab, I just walk everywhere!

    • Min says:

      I did take the subway, but using my legs to get around everywhere was the best feeling in the world! Now back to relying on my car :(.

  4. eatpraytri says:

    OK so that view is AMAZING! I love calamari soooo much and that looks delish and that bowl of berries and ice cream just looks so refreshing and sweet and I want it right now! 🙂

    • Min says:

      Haha! Cinnamon, you’re too cute :). I’m pretty sure there are few Korean bakeries in Seattle that sell patbingsu! Do you want me to look into it? I think you’ll love it!

  5. It looks like you had a fantastic trip!! Your eats look incredibly delicious–especially that calamari! I’m pretty sure that I would have polished off the entire dish of anchovy mayo (I may be the only healthy living blogger who actually loves both anchovies AND mayo 😉 ) The shaved ice dessert sounds so unique; I bet the red bean paste added a unique and nutty flavor. Yum!

    Walking around large cities is one of my favorite activities! I try to avoid cars/buses/subways as much as possible when I’m traveling because a) it’s the best way to discover fun, off-the-beaten-path restaurants/shops and b) the exercise is fantastic!

    Happy Wednesday! xoxo

    • Min says:

      HI, Sara! I ate wayy too much on this trip, but how could I not?!? I realized my self-control isn’t as strong as I thought it was! Oh wells, no regrets!
      Walking around was def fun! To be honest, I wasn’t too thrilled about it in the beginning. I’m so dependent on my car..and am so lazy. However, that quickly changed! Who knew my legs were so strong and dependable? :).

  6. That view is awesome! And I don’t even like calamari (ok, I haven’t tried it) and I am salivating from that photo.

  7. I have missed your posts Min! Glad you are back and can’t wait to hear about your NYC trip. Love the eats you had there. And the caption on your calamari pic made me laugh because my husband always wants to eat and I’m always trying to take a picture which annoys him! Looks like you had fun, love the view from the apartment.

    • Min says:

      Hi, Natalie! I missed you! Yes, I def annoyed a lot of people on this trip hehe. I told them that I’m a blogger, as I had to explain the reason why my camera flashed nonstop. I didn’t tell them the site, though. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that they won’t find me :).

  8. Wow, your lunch looks soo good!! I want some of that calamari. What a fun trip.

  9. The description you wrote of your lunch has my mouth watering. It looks like perfection! I love the idea of the smoked coulis with it.

    Can’t wait for your interpretation of the Korean dish. I love to make Asian dishes at home!

  10. Pingback: WIAW: Snacking spree! And some catching up « Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Foodiness

  11. wait, you eat calamari and fish for breakfast? is this a normal thing? so interesting!

  12. Lauren says:

    Hi Min! So glad you’re back! My husband and I were just watching an episode of House Hunters that was based in NYC. The way of living there is so different than what I’m used to! This couple was looking to purchase a condo (about 900 sq. ft.) for half a million dollars! I hope you had a great time and lots of good food!

    • Min says:

      Thanks, Lauren! Yea..We could never afford to live there! It’s crazy! I nearly flipped when I heard how much my in-laws are paying for their tiny place!! I had a wonderful time…so did my tummy :).

  13. I have never been to NYC before, but could definitely get used to waking up to that view 🙂

  14. So jealous you were in NY! Sounds like a great visit, with some really good food. Saw on twitter that you’re now in Tx? Us too!

  15. All of the fresh seafood looked delicious! We only have a small selection of frozen fish and seafood here. : P

Leave a Reply

