Rekindling My Passion

I have an exciting day ahead of me and will definitely fill you guys in on the details later.  Right now, I want to share about the big step that I have decided to take.  I used to play the violin, not bc my parents forced me to, but because of my unexplainable love for the instrument.  While most of the parents took their kids to rehearsals and attended concerts, mine didn’t.  I almost always had to hitch a ride with my friends.  I say this not to gain pity but to show a glimpse of how much dedication and love I had for playing.  Mrs. Pitts was my one and only violin teacher.  Her life story is incredible.  She came to the States with basically nothing except her violin and her passion for music, and she confidently fought her way into the Julliard School of Music.  All her students were top-notch players and superstars in the orchestra realm, and to this day, I still don’t know why she decided to take me (a helpless girl who had taught herself all the wrong techniques) in to be her student.  In any case, I cannot thank her enough.  Then, in my senior year of high school, she decided to retire early, and I couldn’t have been happier for her.

During my sophomore year in college, I can recall vividly the day I got a call from my mom telling me that Mrs. Pitts had lost her battle with lung cancer.  The crazy thing is…I didn’t even know that she had cancer!  I felt so numb. Helpless. Weak. Hopeless. Angry. Bitter. Depressed…I had no idea I was capable of so many complex emotions.  It was the first time I had lost someone so dear to me, and I dealt with it the best way I knew how…

Since her death, I dared not touch my violin – the one that Mrs. Pitts hand-selected herself.  How could I?  Her fingerprints were and still are all over it.  My prized instrument is merely collecting dust.

Well, lately, I’ve found myself staring at the case quite frequently.  I must admit, despite all the lies that I’ve told myself that I don’t care to play it anymore, I do miss hearing the magnificent sound radiating from my beloved.

On Sunday evening, we went to a house concert to hear Ruby Jane, a 17 yr. old singer-songwriter, fiddle prodigy, and blossoming vocalist.  She’s absolutely tremendous!  Breathtakingly talented!  I won’t go into all the details, but I must mention that she was the youngest fiddler ever to play the Grand Ole Opry.  Enough said.

Seeing her play with such passion ignited something in me.  I WANT to and I NEED to play again.  Quite frankly, I don’t even know if my fingers will know where to place themselves on the fingerboard, if my left hand will vibrato for me, or if my right hand will grip and move the bow in one fluid motion.  Regardless, I’ve taken the first step…

Hello, beautiful!  I’m sorry that I neglected you..can we be friends again?  I look forward to developing and rekindling our relationship once again.  I wonder how Mrs. Pitts would feel about this major step.  I hope she’s smiling.

As a reward for allowing me to share with you my story, I leave you guys with this quick, healthy, and satisfying recipe that’s perfect for a busy weekday.

I had some tomatillos that have been in my fridge for a week, and so I searched for recipes containing tomatillos and found this one!  Sounded perfect, and I immediately got to work.   I modified the recipe slightly, as I didn’t have all the ingredients on hand.

Chicken with Tomatillo and Avocado Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 small red onion, peeled and quartered
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded
  • 3 small tomatillos, husked, cored, and quartered
  •  1 clove garlic, peeled
  • 1 Tbsp EVOO
  • 1 avocado, peeled
  • 2 Tbs. cilantro
  • 2 Tbs. lime juice (1 lime)
  • 1/4 cup almond milk (I used Silk Pure Almond Original)
  • 1 tsp salt and pepper
  • 4 small chicken breasts

Directions

  1. Preheat the broiler.  Place the onion, jalapeño, tomatillos, and garlic in a pan and drizzle with about 1 Tbs. EVOO
  2. Broil for a few minutes, until the veggies begin to soften and char
  3. Allow to cool
  4. Remove and place in a food processor
  5. Add the avocado, cilantro, and lime juice to the food processor
  6. Process until well-combined and slowly add in the almond milk
  7. Add salt and pepper
  8. Cook the chicken
  9. Pour the sauce over the chicken.
  10. The leftover sauce can be refrigerated up to 3 days.
  11. Enjoy!

You know how I love leftovers!  With the refrigerated leftover sauce, I made a wrap made up of chicken, kale, sauce, tomatoes, and zucchini.  It was so refreshing and delicious.

IMG_0571

Question:

Have you ever played or still play an instrument?  

Are there any hobbies that you dropped and want to pick up again?

This entry was posted in Personal, recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rekindling My Passion

  1. That’s great that you are going to start playing again!! Good luck 🙂

  2. That recipe looks simple, yet delicious! And it’s always nice to be able to make it ahead of time and refrigerate it. I tried to play a few instruments, but I always hated it. My Dad would have loved if I stuck with one of them! Oh well. I’d love to do gymnastics or ice skate again – they were my favorite sports growing up!

  3. I am so happy you shared you story – that comment you left on my blog stayed with me all weekend. Good for you, picking up the violin again! I am absolutely sure Ms. Pitts will still be with you while you play.

  4. eatpraytri says:

    I used to play the flute a looooong time ago, but kind of lost my passion for it. Haven’t ever really felt the desire again. But in the future who knows??? That avocado sauce looks delish!

  5. Carol says:

    Mrs. Pitt is going to be delighted when she hears the first few notes from your violin … and so will you. Congrats on the first step and surely the second and third will be a snap.

  6. I wish I had played an instrument! I hated piano when I was little, but wish I had started back again when I “grew up”. hehe

  7. Min says:

    I also played the piano when I was little, but I just never got into it either. Perhaps it was bc of my evil teacher who yelled at me every chance she got!

  8. Oh, Min, reading this post filled my eyes with tears (really!) and my heart with joy! Your love for the violin is so apparent, and I’m so happy you’re rekindling your passion! I’m sure Mrs. Potts is smiling down from Heaven. 🙂 Play away, girl…let that music flow from your fingers. ❤

    The chicken with tomatillo and avocado sauce looks delicious. This is a must-try recipe, especially since I'm always looking for new ways to use avocados.

    I took piano lessons through middle school, and then quit so that I could devote all my time to soccer, basketball and lacrosse. I sure wish I'd stuck with it though. Occasionally I'll sit down at a piano and tinker away at the keys, longing to be able to play like I once did. I guess it's never too late to start again though, right?

    xoxo ❤

    • Min says:

      Sara, my beautiful lady! Thank you so much for your kind words!
      Before I play way, I shall learn to tune it first haha. Apparently, I have forgotten. It’s going to be a long journey, this one.

      I really do like this recipe a lot! I think I’m going to add some more jalapeños next time! Spicier the better. I prefer it cold. Pour it over salads, and boy it’s soo refreshing!

      Wow! You were quite the tomboy, eh? I’m jealous.. I wish I had played sports. And you’re absolutely right! It’s never TOO late to start again!! NEVER! so DO IT! 🙂

  9. Pingback: Spotlight on a Superfruit: Avocado | savortherainbow

Leave a Reply

