My First Giveaway

I have a wonderful giveaway for you today!  But before I get into that, it’s time for Katie’s awesome link up, MIMM!

This weekend was pretty awesome because my mom and my brother came up for a visit.  Their company’s ALWAYS welcome :).  Even though we spent most of the time lounging around at home (my brother’s allergies got really bad), it was just nice to feel that familiarity of home.  However, we did hit up some of the delicious eateries…and an outlet mall ;).

At Torchy’s Tacos, one of the most happening taco restaurants in town, there are over 10 unique and tantalizing tacos to choose from.  The names are quite quirky – Dirty Sanchez, The Crossroads, Trailer Park, The Independent.  Each bite you take bursts with flavor from all the carefully thought-out components.  Their sauces are AWESOME as well!

I shall entice you with one of the menu descriptions – The Independent (which is what I had, pictured above on the bottom right): hand-battered and fried portobello mushroom strips with refried black beans, roasted corn, escabeche carrots (not sure what these are, but they added a tremendous punch of flavor!), queso fresco, cilantro, and avocado drizzled with ancho aioli (super spicy :o).

My mom, the lovely woman you see above, wanted BBQ, and we knew just the place.  Off to Rudy’s we went!  They are famous for their extra-moist beef brisket, and sure enough, it was her favorite out of our amazing spread of Baby Back Ribs, St. Louis Pork Ribs, Beef Brisket (combination of both extra-moist and extra-lean cuts), Coleslaw, Potato Salad, and Creamed Corn.

With our bellies full, we made a trip to the outlet mall in San Marcos, one of the largest in the nation.  We did some serious damage there.  I’m going to be a good girl and not go shopping for a WHOLE month ;).  Can’t make promises, though…

Now for the giveaway.

Are you looking for an easier and more exciting way to keep track of your calories, exercises, and challenges you may have set for yourself?  Do you need some motivation and that extra push to help you achieve your goals?  Slimkicker might be just what you’re looking for!  It’s a level-up game and point based-program in which you’re awarded more points as you eat healthier, engage in more physical activities, and complete challenges that help build healthier habits for the long-run.

I really like the interactive aspect in which you can check-in with others who are committed to doing the same challenge as you.  It’s always nice to have some sort of accountability and social support, don’t you think?

Some of the challenges that stood out to me are :

New Veggie a Day, Healthy Fats with Your Veggies, Slow Down Challenge

The website is also full of useful  nutrition, fitness, and wellness tips and advice as well as healthy and delicious recipes for different diets.

The exciting news for you is that the creative minds behind Slimkicker are giving away a heart rate and calorie monitor to one lucky winner!

This device is great for tracking present heart rate, as well as average and max heart rates, and calories burnt.

Here’s how to win this giveaway:

  • Leave a comment with your suggestion in 1-2 sentences for a fun, creative fitness or diet challenge.  For example, mine would be to eat an avocado a day (I set this challenge for myself couple of weeks ago, and I believe using Slimkicker would help me achieve it).
  • The giveaway will close on Sunday, July 15th.
  • This is for US residents only!
  • Follow me on Twitter and tweet this giveaway (optional).

I can’t wait to read all your suggestions!

Hope you guys have a Marvelous Monday!!

This entry was posted in Austin Eats, Family, Food, Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to My First Giveaway

  1. Lauren says:

    Cool giveaway Min! I think mine would be to just be sure I’m hitting the gym every other day and do circuits at home when I can’t get there! I also need to limit my sugar to one ‘cheat’ day a week, but it’s so hard!

    • Min says:

      Whoa! That IS hard!! I’m starting to get into doing circuits as well! I see all these workouts on people’s blogs, and I’m def getting inspired :).

  2. carol says:

    To include exercise and USE this monitor on a daily basis – no ifs, ands, or buts!

  3. Ellie says:

    ahhhh awesome giveaway!! hahaha it’s like you READ MY MINNNNND~Lately I’ve beeen wanting a heart rate monitor because I wanna see how hard I workout. And my challenge to myself is to get back to eating 6 times a day because now it’s more like, 4-5? When I do 6 I feel much better and have more energy. 😀 And you and your mom are such beauties. And I’m not kidding when I say that your brother looks sooooooo familiar! Has he been/lived in socal before?

    • Min says:

      I’ve been really good about eating 5-6 small meals as well, but this whole herbal medicine is messing up my schedule :(. I can’t eat an hour before and after drinking it…That’s fine except I have to drink it 3 times a day! So you see my dilemma. Ugh..
      Hmm…I don’t think he has. However, he went to school in Davis, so he was in Cali..Did he have a second life that I’m not aware of…hmm..fishy fishy :o.

  4. that food looks amazing. I would love a challenge that had you see how creative you could get with moving each day… someway that each day you add some sort of extra movement you wouldn’t normally do. Maybe dance for 10 minutes, crunches during a commercial break, etc.

    • Min says:

      That’s a really neat idea, Alex! Doing something different everyday…I should make a list for myself! I def can move a lil during commercial breaks ;).

  5. erinmotz says:

    Exciting! Your mom is super pretty, btw!!!

  6. Awesome Giveaway! I would want to drink more water everyday! (:

  7. Min says:

    Aww! Thanks Erin! When we go out, everyone thinks we are sisters :o. Not cool haha..Oh wells, I’m used to it now. Hope you’re having a wonderful day!

  8. Sounds like a great weekend! Sometimes hanging around the house with family is the best kind of weekend!

  9. Grace says:

    I used to always eat unhealthy foods, and I’ve always had a sweet tooth, so when I first started to eat more healthily, I made it my goal to eat at least five servings of fruit a day, or one serving with each meal. It really helped me to switch to eating more wholesome, nutritious food!

  10. Brittany says:

    What a great giveaway! I just now started workout out again, and I would love to track my HR to make sure I keep it pretty low and to make sure I fuel up after! 🙂 My goal is to eat a healthy fat at every meal and snack! I love the avocado idea!!

  11. Jill says:

    Everything in moderation!!

    • Min says:

      I’m so sorry, Jill!! I didn’t realize that some comments were sent directly to spam..I should’ve been checking. I just read this now…I’m sorry. Thank you for your comments! 🙂

  12. Jill says:

    Great giveaway! I think to be healthy is so remember to do everything in moderation!

  13. My idea is to brush your teeth as soon as you are done eating dinner. This will prevent you from snacking at night! It doesn’t sound like much, but it’s actually been helping me for the past month so i think it’d be a good challenge.

Leave a Reply

