Slow Cooker Spicy Tex-Mex Beef Fajitas

Living in Texas, there’s a plethora of Tex Mex restaurants to keep our tastebuds entertained.  Tim and I LOVE us some Mexican food (and margaritas).   As a matter of fact, one of our first and most memorable dates took place at a place called Chuy’s.  Mexican restaurants make such great date spots.  The ambience is casual, fun, loud, and uplifting.  The bottomless chips and salsa are such a great complement to good conversation as you dip them in house specialty salsas or ooey-gooey chile con queso and just munch away.  And the food..oh man..the food!  There’s nothing more intoxicating than the smell of sizzling onions and meat.  Can I get an “Amen!”?  For the most part, I have great self-control.  However, I’m only human.  Mexican resturants = put on my fat pants

When we go to our fav local Mexican restaurants, we don’t need to look at the menu.  We always order combination fajitas for 2 (or 3) which includes grilled beef and chicken (and shrimp if we feel like splurging) served with rice, beans, pico de gallo, sour cream, guacamole, and cheese.  Quite a spread, no?

We are currently on a budget which means we only go out to eat at most twice a week.  Therefore, we make a conscious effort to try new places each time.  Otherwise, as I’m a creature of habit, we’d go to the same restaurants all the time (and we certainly have done so in the past).  As a result, we don’t go to our fav Mexican restaurant as much as we’d like to.  But of course, life without fajitas is not acceptable here in Texas!  And so it was only natural that I tried to recreate this meal at home.  I usually marinate the meat overnight and cook it in a skillet, but as I seem to be getting busier and busier, use of the slow cooker seemed promising :).

So here’s my attempt!  And it’s a winner!

Slow Cooker Spicy Tex-Mex Beef Fajitas

Slighted adapted from Allrecipes

Serving size: 4 people | Prep time: 30 min | Cooking time: 6 hours

Ingredients:

-1 Ib. flank steak

-8 flour tortillas (or corn)

Marinade

  • 2 Tbs. garlic, minced
  • 1 Tsp. cumin
  • 1 Tsp. chili powder
  • 1 Tbs. adobo sauce
  • 2 Tbs. cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 jalapeño, seeded and chopped
  • 2 Tbs. lime juice
  • 1  6 oz. can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 Tsp. salt
  • 1 Tsp. pepper

Onion and peppers stir-fry

  • 1 red onion, sliced
  • 2 bell peppers, julienned (any color you prefer)
  • 1 Tsp. garlic
  • 1 Tbs. EVOO
  • Season with salt and pepper

Toppings

  • Guacamole – 1 Tbs lime juice, 1 avocado, salt + pepper to taste
  • Cheddar cheese, shredded
  • Sour cream (optional)
  • Cilantro

Directions

  1. Prepare the marinade and rub it over the steak.  Place in the slow cooker.  Pour the tomatoes on top.
  2. Set the cooker on low for 6 hrs (or on high for 3 hrs).
  3. When the meat is about done (about 30 min left), stir-fry the vegetables in a medium skillet over med-high heat, about 6 minutes.
  4. Prepare all the toppings and set aside.
  5. When the meat is done, wrap everything up in the tortilla.  You choose the portions :).
  6. Dig in!
Hope you give this a try!  Feel free to substitute or add anything that you like!  The beauty of this is you can do no wrong.  That’s why various innovative fusion fajitas are  popping up everywhere in the cooking world today.  Personally I think Kimchi fajitas are out of this world.  But I may be a lil’ biased ;).  I believe kimchi makes everything taste better.
This entry was posted in Dating, Family, Food, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Slow Cooker Spicy Tex-Mex Beef Fajitas

  1. eatpraytri says:

    This looks amazing! I’ve been wanting to do something with some flank steak this summer. This is a great idea!! Especially since I will make anything if it gives me an excuse to make guacamole! 😉

  2. Michelle says:

    Oh my goodness, these look amazing!! I love anything slow cooker, but I always make the same few meals. I have to try this SOON! I have never cooked with flank steak – I’ve looked for it in the store the last few times I went but didn’t see it. Any tips?

    • Min says:

      I usually purchase them from Costco. I just love having extras in the freezer for a convenient weeknight meal like this one. I normal use flank or skirt (the original steak of fajitas) steak, but honestly, I think any cuts of meat will work. That’s the beauty of the slow cooker. No matter how tough and chewy the meat is, just throw them in the cooker, and Voila! Melt in your mouth goodness is born :).

  3. I love all kinds of tex mex food! This fajitas look delicious. I also love anything with guacamole! And margaritas are definitely on the top of the list of my favorites 🙂

  4. I’m loving that you did these in the slow cooker! Awesome! They sound amazing…I love fajitas!

  5. These look fabulous! I love fajitas but hardly ever make them at home!

  6. I love kimchi, so that sounds like a great addition! I always order fajitas at mexica restaurants too- yum

  7. Pingback: Quick and Easy Fajita Dinner « Just A Little Ginger

  8. Pingback: Recipe Wednesday: Produce Packed Recipes! | Healthy Living Blogs

  9. Fajitas are my go-to at Mexican restaurants too…I bet the ones in Texas are far superior than what I’m used to 🙂 Will have to try this recipe, I love using my slow-cooker, but don’t do it often enough!

  10. Pingback: Spotlight on a Superfruit: Avocado | savortherainbow

Leave a Reply

