Homemade Dumplings

I love making dumplings at home!  This tradition started from way back, when Tim was just a little boy.  He has fond memories of his family gathering around the table  every Thanksgiving and Christmas and making dumplings together while swapping stories and life happenings with one another.  My mother and father-in-law are currently in Indonesia serving as long-term missionaries, and therefore we don’t get to see them as much as we’d like to.  But every time they come back to the States for a brief visit, we can count on making these pillowy packages of goodness together.  Certainly, I want to carry on this timeless tradition with my own family as well!  In my opinion, this recipe from my mother-in-law is perfect!  There’s only 3 (well, it’s really just the 2 of us, but Kona sat next to us the whole time and kept us entertained with his presence =)) of us so it def took longer to make, but we had a blast =).  Perfect bonding time in my book!

I hope you’ll try making these for yourselves – gather as many people as you can (more hands the better), and just have a dumpling party =).  Fun!  No?

Homemade Dumplings

Serving: makes about 40 |  Prep time:  1 hour |  Cook time:  3o minutes

Ingredients:

  • 1 Ib ground meat*
  • 1 cup mungbean sprouts
  • 1/2 pack soft tofu
  • 1/2 med onion, diced
  • 1 Tbs garlic, minced
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup green onion, chopped
  • 1 Tsp salt
  • 1 Tsp fish sauce
  • 1 Tsp ground black pepper
  •  60 Wonton skins **
* I used 3/4 ground bison meat and 1/4 ground pork.  The original recipe calls for half ground beef and half ground pork so you can do that if you’d prefer.  Or you can try 100% pork if you’re looking for a guilty pleasure.
** It doesn’t always come out to be 40 dumplings.. sometimes more, sometimes less.  I say have at least 60 skins on hand, just in case.
Dipping sauce:
  • Low-sodium soy sauce and vinegar (3:1 ratio)
  • A thin slice of garlic
  • Red pepper flakes (optional)

Directions:

  1. Prepare an ice bath.  Wash the sprouts and boil in hot water for about 5 minutes.  Remove and transfer to ice bath.
  2. Using a kitchen towel, squeeze all the water out from the sprouts.  Run the knife through for a coarse chop. *
  3. Similarly, squeeze all the water out from the tofu and crumble into small pieces.*
  4. In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients together.  Mix well!
  5. Place a wonton skin in the palm of your hand.  Brush the edges of the skin with water.  Place a spoonful of filling in the middle.  DO NOT OVERSTUFF!
  6. Fold skin in half over the filling and press the edges together FIRMLY to seal!
  7. Repeat with rest of skins.
  8. Pour 2 Tbs of EVOO into a medium-sized skillet over med-high heat.  Cook about 8 dumplings at a time, approx 3 minutes on each side or until browned.
  9. Pour about 3 Tbs of water to skillet and cover with a lid immediately as oil will spatter **
  10. Cook for additional 2 min.
  11. Enjoy!  Don’t forget the dipping sauce!
* Be sure to squeeze out as much water as possible!  This helps maintain a compact filling as well as reduce splatter from excess water hitting the oil.
** Pan frying the dumplings allows for crispy skin while the addition of water steams the filling.  Also by using this method, less oil will be needed.

Squeeze the life out of the mungbeans and tofu.  Crumble the tofu into small pieces.

Kona:  “What are you making daddy?  Can I have some too?”

Pour the water into the pan and close the lid IMMEDIATELY!

They freeze beautifully too!  Just make sure to spread them apart.  Never stack them!

Then, in the future, you can make dumpling soup!

Hope you’ll try this recipe and fall in love with making them as much as we do!

As Paula Deen would say, “from our house to yours!”

This entry was posted in Culture, Family, Food, recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Homemade Dumplings

  1. carol says:

    Thanks so much for this recipe. I’ll be making these soon!

    • Min says:

      You’re welcome! =) Let me know how it turns out!!

      • carol says:

        One word … dee-lish-ous!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yum! Another batch needs to be made and placed immediately into the freezer. Thank you again for this recipe – much appreciated.

  2. Yum! I love your creativity with cooking, I want to try and make these! Hope you are having a fabulous day!

    • Min says:

      Thanks, Natalie! You and Darin should make it together! Fun date idea, no? hehe..If he hates it, you can blame it all on me =).

  3. Michelle says:

    I LOVE food that is filled with special memories, like your husbands Christmas memories! My favorite Christmas food is that cinnamon/brown sugar pull apart monkey bread… yumm!

  4. I’ve always wanted to make homemade dumplings, will have to try your husband’s family recipe 🙂 That’s really amazing that your in-laws are long term missionaries in Indonesia!

    • Min says:

      Yes, please do!! They are great! If you like your dumplings a bit more on the saltier side, I suggest you add some soy sauce. But I think it’s fine esp since there’s the dipping sauce.

      Yup, they truly are amazing! My father-in-law’s dream (who btw is 80 yrs old!) has been to be a missionary some day, but he wasn’t able to do so until 5 years ago. However, we really want them to come back now as both of them are having a lot of health issues.

      • Tim says:

        Wait!!! My dad’s not THAT old! He’s only 70!! And getting around quite fine I might add 😉 . But yes, we want them to come back soon so that they can enjoy their retirement (although he’ll argue that they already are) and get better medical treatment for their declining health.

      • Wow, he’s 80 years old?! That is truly impressive that he’s following through on a life dream 🙂 My father turned 80 this year too, but still very active and working full-time, keeps him young!

  5. Kailey says:

    Dumplings are my FAVORITE food in the world. I could eat them everyday and be completely satisfied with life 🙂 these look great.

    • Min says:

      Wow, they’re your FAVORITE? aww..wish you lived near by… I would’ve been more than happy to share the love! You really should try making these!

  6. Lauren says:

    YUM! I love dumplings, and these look fabulous! I’ve thought about being a missionary…do your folks like it? I would imagine it’s very rewarding. It’d be difficult for me now with kids, but I still think about it. I hope everything is going well Min!

  7. Min says:

    Hi Lauren! Wow, that’s awesome that you’ve thought about being a missionary! They’ve been there for 5 years now and will be returning to the States next year as their health is quickly deteriorating (my father-in-law just turned 80). God’s using them in mighty ways as they have and are continuing to lead so many people to Christ! What can be more rewarding than that?
    Hope you’re enjoying your evening! Your kids truly are so cute =).

  8. Such a great recipe! I’m too lazy to make my own, but my mom freezes a bunch for me every once in awhile. I actually have some in my freezer right now 😀

  9. Ellie says:

    hahaha I love this post! dumpling making is sooo fun, therapeutic, and it ends up being such a family-oriented cooking activity….My dad always helps my mom fill/seal the dumplings! 😉

  10. Katy says:

    Wow, Min – these look amazing! I love dumplings but have always thought they were way to complicated to attempt at home. This recipe actually looks easy and I can’t wait to try it!

  11. Kym says:

    My husband and I will try this soon!!! 🙂

  12. Dumplings + Me = Love. I almost became a dumpling on my recent trip to Shanghai! Yours looks so good!

  13. Forgot to mention. Kona is A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E! Next to food, dogs are my biggest weakness!

Leave a Reply

