Sweet Potato Quinoa Salad

It’s only been two days since I got back from the trip, and I already miss my family so much!!

This picture cracks me up!!  My dad, a self-proclaimed master photographer, insisted that we take a “candid” picture.  Yea…we so don’t look like we’re posing..The hubby looks the most hilarious out of all of us, I think haha..

Oh!  His genius creativity continues!

I also climbed a tree named Cork Oak!  From the feel of the bark, it was appropriately named.

I climbed up just fine, but coming down was a lil’ hairy.  So the “macho” hubby came to the rescue and lent me his broad, manly shoulders =).

Ahh…I had so much fun…Alright, alright…enough reminiscing..

I don’t know if it’s nostalgia, the brutally hot weather, or the fact that I bombed my quiz (probably a combination of everything), but yesterday was one of those days where everything felt blah~

As much as I wanted to just turn myself into a cocoon with my fav Kona-scented blanket, catch up on So You Think You Can Dance, open up a box of cereal, and munch away mindlessly, I decided to get in the kitchen!  I’m so glad that I did!

I opened up my fridge and three things jumped out at me – sweet potatoes, tilapia, and black beans.  They inspired me to make me some sweet potato quinoa salad.  I sort of went south of the border with this one as you can see by the components.  To make it more special, I went the extra step to caramelize the onions.  There’s nothing that arouses my senses and makes my mouth water like the smell of onions sautéing.  It smelled like a piece of heaven, and I instantly felt better =).  I am so easy to please, eh?

Sweet Potato Quinoa Salad

Prep time: 30 minutes

Ingredients:

Salad

  • 2 large sweet potato, peeled and cut into 1 in pieces*
  • 1 Tbs EVOO
  • 1 Tbs cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1/4 cup black beans
  •  1/2 yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 cup zucchini, diced into bite-size pieces
  • 1/4 cup kale, chopped
  • 1 avocado
* You only need 1/4 cup of sweet potatoes, but I like to roast extra so I can enjoy them throughout the week.

Fish

  • 6 oz. tilapia
  • salt, pepper, chili powder to taste
  • 1 Tbs EVOO

Dressing

  • 3 Tbs EVOO
  • 1 Tbs lime juice, freshly squeezed
  • 1 tsp adobo sauce *
*I love the smokiness that this adds, but you can leave it out or substitute it with something else that you prefer!

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 F.
  2. Toss the sweet potatoes in EVOO and cinnamon and spread them on a baking sheet lined with aluminum foil.
  3. Bake in the oven for about 30 minutes, flipping them halfway through.
  4. In a skillet, heat the oil over medium heat.
  5. Add the onions and cook, stirring constantly, for about 30 minutes.
  6. While the onions are caramelizing, cook the tilapia in a separate skillet with EVOO over medium-high heat, 2-3 minutes per side.  Season.
  7. Whisk all the ingredients for the dressing and set aside.
  8. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl, pour the dressing over the salad.
  9. Top with tilapia
  10. Enjoy!

I know this looks like a lot of work, but it really came together in a cinch!  It just requires a lil bit of patience.  Therefore, while I eagerly waited for my onions to caramelize, I HAD to  keep my mouth entertained  with this delightful treat…

Do you guys have Sprouts in your area?  I LOVE this store, and this lemon snap cookie is one of the reasons why I look forward to going there every week =).  If there’s one near you, I highly recommend that you try it!

With this extra boost of energy, I got my study on!  Now I can spend the whole weekend with the hubby =).   Score!

Hope you guys have a fantastic Friday!!


This entry was posted in Family, Food, recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sweet Potato Quinoa Salad

  1. Your family is too cute! Sorry you had a blah day yesterday, but I’m so impressed that you were able to turn it around and make that delicious, healthy meal and get energized from it!! That’s awesome 🙂 Hope you have a great weekend, Min!

  2. Yoonie says:

    I love that ‘candid’ picture!!! I think you look the most hilarious… ^^

    • Min says:

      Yes..appa kept on saying that the picture’s going to be a masterpiece..and look how it turned out haha. I do look pretty hilarious huh? I wish you and Noah were in the picture..sniff sniff

  3. Kari @ bite-sized thoughts says:

    This salad sounds amazing! Hopefully it not only lifted your day but helped the rest of the week improve too. Also, thanks for stopping by my blog – great to discover yours too 🙂

  4. Yum! I love sweet potatoes and quinoa so I definitely want to try this recipe out 🙂 I miss my family too! I’m printing some pictures from our weekend to put up in my apartment to help me cope 🙂 Have a wonderful weekend min!

  5. Ellie says:

    oh yeahhhh I love Sprouts!!!! they have the best deals too! When I shop there, I get about as much if not more food than if I were to shop at a regular store. And great recipe! 🙂 Many times when Greg sees me cooking or baking up a storm he asks me if I’m feeling alright, since baking is like fun therapy for me. 🙂 Hang in there and God bless you today sissy!

  6. Pingback: Divine! Herbed Sweet Potatoes to Die For! | Naked Wellness

Leave a Reply

