Avocado a day challenge!

Is it Wednesday already?  My goodness!  Before, it felt like only the weekends flew by, but now it seems the weekdays do as well.  I just can’t keep track anymore.

To keep from going through the motions, I’ve decided to set little goals for myself and have a purpose for each day.

So starting from today, drum roll please~~~I am committed to eating one avocado a day for a month.  I know I know, it seems like such a trivial goal, nonetheless it still requires me to be proactive about it!

Avocados are so creamy, luscious, and downright delicious!  Not just that, they are packed with nutrients including Vitamin E, folic acid, and fiber.  Oftentimes we try to stay away from fat, but remember – not all fats are created equal.  Avocados are an excellent source of monounsaturated fat!  And we need fat for better absorption of the fat-soluble vitamins A, D, E, K.

So for me, it’s a no-brainer!  Come to me avocados!  Get into my bellay (for those of you big Austin Powers fans) =).

After I got home from school, I basically tossed in all the ingredients that I had in the refrigerator (which were all prepped and ready to go), and created this beauty

Avocado, Kale, Quinoa Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 handful of kale
  • 1/4 cup roasted beets, diced
  • 1 medium carrot, diced
  • 1/3 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 roma tomato, diced
  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 Tbs nutritional yeast
  • 1 Tbs fresly squeezed lemon
  • 1 Tbs pumpkin seeds
  • Squirt of sriracha*
* Sriracha is def optional.  You can simply season with salt and pepper.  I just happen to believe that this little condiment makes everything taste better!

Directions:

  1. Roast the beets.  For a step by step instruction on how to do this, check this out!
  2. Prep all the vegetables.
  3. In a medium bowl, mix all the ingredients together.
  4. Enjoy!

This meal was so satisfying and incredibly nourishing to my body!  I love incorporating beets into salads.  Not only is the color so vibrant and gorgeous, but I love the natual weetness that they add to the dish.  Beets contain betalains, powerful anti-oxidants, and are an excellent source of iron, potassium, folate, and vitamin K.  However, I must warn you – if you’ve never had them before, don’t be alarmed if you find your urine red-colored.  It happened to me, and I was mortified. To my understanding, it may just mean that your body needs more iron.

As you can see, I am all filled up on antioxidants and many essential nutrients =).

So it would only be fitting that I finish off the meal with a cup of green tea, right?  No way!  I don’t think so!

Now we’re talkin!!

So when I purchased this, I didn’t notice that it was slow churned.  The word Samoas just jumped out, and before I knew it, the carton had made its way into my shopping cart.  After my first taste I was reminded why I don’t settle for anything less than full fat when it comes to ice cream.  This was not a homerun for me.  And if you are going to put “Samoas” in big letters on the carton, I expect to find lots of cookie pieces rather than a small handful mixed in here and there =(.  However, I did eat two servings.  I guess that’s the only bonus of eating a figure friendlier version.

Ooh ooh ooh, have you guys had or heard of Blue Bell Ice cream?  My favorite is their Cinnamon flavor!!

Now, I shall leave you guys on that sweet note!  Have a blessed day!!

Questions:

What is your favorite brand of ice cream? And what flavor? 

This entry was posted in Food, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Avocado a day challenge!

  1. I love this challenge! I think the same things are what adds up to! And this salad looks the perfect dish. So fresh and light! YUM!

    • Min says:

      It definitely was just that! When you have all those fresh ingredients, there’s really no need for all the other extras right? Love meals like these =)

  2. Your quinoa salad looks fabulous!! I’ve been on a quinoa kick lately and I’ll have to try this combo asap!

  3. That looks like such a fabulous, summery salad 🙂

    I’ve had that Samoas ice cream too, and been disappointed…never had blue bell ice cream before, will have to see if we have it at our grocery store!

  4. Lauren says:

    I love avocados! They are so filling and my mind feels so clear when I eat them…probably all those good brain fats!

  5. Michelle says:

    Hi Min!!
    Yay for avocados!! I never knew I liked them until a couple years ago. For some reason I thought they would be gross – I have no idea why, I’m not normally a picky eater! Luckily I gave them a try and now try to work them into my meals fairly often.

    • Min says:

      Hi Michelle! I am soo glad you tried them too!! My challenge is only for a month, but I think I can eat it everyday for the rest of my life! Well, this is only my second day so who knows hehe.

  6. I actually hate the texture of avocado, I know I am weird. But the ice cream, oh yum.

  7. Pingback: In need of some fitness advice | savor the rainbow

  8. Pingback: Cucumber Face Mask |

Leave a Reply

