It’s too hot!

I have lived in Texas most of my life, but this scorching summer heat is something that I just cannot get used to.  Although I am sure I cope with it a lot better than you guys who live in places that actually have a season called winter.

I am currently taking an agriculture class, which focuses on the world food problem and the dynamic interactions involved in food production and consumption.  So far, I am really loving this class!  The hour long commute to school everyday? not so much.  To make matters worse, on Monday there was an overturned 18 wheeler that spilled aluminum cans everywhere on the highway!  It took this girl nearly two and a half hours to get home!  To make things more fun and exciting, it was about 94 degrees (felt like 100 degrees) outside.  Needless to say, I got my dosage of vitamin D to last me for months to come!

Anyway, my usual routine looks like this- I get home, jump in the shower, say hello to my needy child a.k.a Kona, and then fix myself something to eat.  This week, I have been craving nothing but salads and ice cream (well I can always eat this comforting, creamy, rich deliciousness).

So I made this

Can you tell the salad looks awfully like the one featured the other day?  I used basically all the same ingredients since no veggies get left behind under my watch!  They all eventually end up where they belong…in my belly!
I did change it up by grilling some flank steak in the grill pan (I really wanna get a grill this summer!)  and by adding a spicy  but refreshing mango dressing.  It was just what my body needed!   I love mangoes, and I am trying to come up with different ways to enjoy them.   I think I am going to add them to my protein smoothie before I hit the gym tomorrow.
The mango dressing couldn’t be any simpler!

Mango Dressing
Ingredients:
-1/2 mango
-1 Tbs rice wine vinegar
-1 Tbs sesame oil
-1 Tsp red chili flakes (adjust to your liking)
Directions:
1.  Puree the mango in a food processor
2.  Incorporate the vinegar and sesame oil
3.  Finished!
And just as a bonus, here’s another Asian dressing recipe!
Spicy Asian dressing with almond butter 
(another ingredient I am trying to incorporate into…anything!)
Ingredients:
-1/4 cup low sodium soy sauce
-1/4 cup sesame oil
-1/3 cup brown sugar
-1 Tbs rice wine vinegar
-1 Tbs almond butter
-2 Tbs apple cider vinegar
-1 Tbs sriracha (can substitute with red chili flakes)
Hope y’all have a blessed Thursday!
Question:
What is your favorite fruit and what are some ways you enjoy eating them besides just cutting and popping them into your mouth?
This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s too hot!

  1. Lauren says:

    It’s hot where I’m at too (Tucson). We’ve already hit 106! Blah! Your dressing looks so yummy! I love to freeze bananas and then whirl them around in the food processor to make ‘banana ice cream’. Frozen grapes are also really good! Thanks for the cucumber mask recipe; I’m going to try it out tonight!

  2. oh my! 106!! OK I shall stop complaining! oh boy
    ooh banana ice cream nom nom!
    let me know how the mask turn out =)

Leave a Reply

