Lemon blueberry cookies

Today, Tim got off work early to go to praise practice.  We don’t get to see much of each other during the week so I really cherish these days.  Most of the weekdays we are more like roomies :(.  He came back just in time for dinner and told me he was craving a salad.  I was so proud of him :).

The salad came together in a cinch thanks to all the prep work I did on Sunday.  Usually, the moment I get back from the store, I wash all my vegetables and fruits, slice, store in a tupperware, and finally place them  eye-level  in the refrigerator.  This way I am sure to feel the vegetable guilt throughout the week.  I say to myself “if I don’t eat them they will spoil.  And what a waste that would be!”

Anyway,  the salad included spinach, zucchini, red and orange bell pepper, roma tomatoes, and as for the highlight-Korean braised beef short ribs!  I will post the recipe soon!

Then I got in the baking mood and decided to bake Lemon Blueberry Cookies, my all time favorite summer cookie.  It is so light, moist, and zesty.  They are more like muffin tops than cookies which is perfect since I only eat the tops.  Here’s the recipe!

Lemon Blueberry Cookies

Servings: about 20 cookies

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F

Ingredients:

-2 cups all purpose flour

-2 tsp baking powder

-1/2 tsp salt

-1 stick butter

-1/2 cup granulated sugar

-3/4 cup apple sauce

-1 egg yolk

-1/3 cup whole milk (you can substitute with almond or soy milk, but I prefer the whole milk.  It gives it a richer taste)

-1 tsp almond extract

-zest of a lemon

-1/2 cup chopped almonds, toasted (optional but preferred)

-1 cup blueberries (you can use frozen but since they are in season I used the fresh ones.  I tossed them in some flour so that they won’t sink to the bottom)

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, and salt.  Set aside

2.  In another bowl, cream together the butter, sugar, and the apple sauce.

3. Add the egg yolk and beat to incorporate.

4. Add the milk, almond extract, and the lemon zest.

5.  Combine the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.

6.  Fold in the almonds and the blueberries to the batter.

7.  Chill the dough in the refrigerator for about an hour. I didn’t have the patience today so I took it out after 30 minutes.

8.  Use an ice cream scooper to drop the batter onto the cookie sheet.  These cookies don’t spread out very much so they can be placed fairly close to each other.

10. Bake for about 15 minutes until the edges are golden.

11. Although it’s really tempting to devour them immediately, I like to wait for about 30 minutes.  The flavor seems to develop more, and the flavor of the lemon zest really comes through the longer it sits.

voila!

Hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

Just for laughter, here’s a picture of me and the Kones buddie.  He is not a happy camper these days as I am spending more time on the computer.  Do you see him staring intently at the screen? He is saying “Mommy! why aren’t you paying attention to me? what are you doing that’s so important? I have to check this out! (with his ears pulled back)”  That’s our lil stinker for ya!

Have a great evening!

This entry was posted in recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon blueberry cookies

  1. Lauren says:

    Hi Min! Thanks for visiting my blog and leaving such a heartfelt message! These cookies look great! I bought a bottle of almond extract about six months ago and am always looking for recipes to incorporate it into, so this works out perfect!

  2. Hi Lauren! yes yes you must bake these! I actually like the cookies really lemony so I sometimes add the zest of 2 lemons. This really brightens up the flavor =) enjoy!

Leave a Reply

