It’s Friday!!

It is definitely summer here in Austin! It’s 91 degrees outside right now, and this is just the beginning 😦

For my workout of the day, I decided to check out the “Fitness Pilates” class offered at Lifetime Fitness.  I have never taken pilates before so I am not sure what the difference is..but we didn’t use the pilates machine that I see people use on t.v  so perhaps that’s it?

  This picture made me laugh so hard! do you see the black shadow in the left hand corner staring intently at me?
  Kona says: “mommy! how could you not include me in the picture? o well this will have to do!”
 And no I am not crazy..Tim and I always put words in his mouth..we know exactly what he wants to say and what he’s thinking 🙂 it’s our gift.  He’s def the king of this household.  Sad. My husband says.
               Well, the class was from 11 to 12, and I must say, I LOVED it!!  As my goal is to stick to low intensity workouts for the time being (reasons I will share with you another time), this class was perfect.  I practice hot yoga (not Bikram, just a hot room) three times a week, and it was refreshing to switch up a lil. My core, lower back, and legs were definitely challenged   🙂
              Later on in the afternoon, as I  was trying to figure out this whole blogging thing I decided to take a break and make myself a hearty snack.  Boy, I tell ya!  I feel quite overwhelmed.  I am so far from being computer savvy, and I find myself turning to youtube for every single detail! For example, today I just learned what RSS feed is! oh man.  But it’s ok.  Beginnings are never easy, but it will all be worth it.  Things in life should not be handed to you on a silver platter.  You have to work for it! The sense of accomplishment is one of the most rewarding and amazing feeling ever! so I shall rock on!
                             I didn’t just want to eat my usual pb & J sandwich, although it’s always perfect, so I spent some time in the kitchen making my ultimate veggie patties! here it is!
oh and photography is def on my list of things to learn! I have always wanted to so it will be fun! in the meanwhile, this is the best I can do.
Veggie Patties
servings: 8 individual scrumptious patties
Ingredients:
– 1/2 cup diced onions
-1 cup grated carrots
-1 cup grated zucchini
-1 Tbs minced garlic
-2 eggs
-1 cup chickpea flour
-1 cup breadcrumbs (I used 3 slices of Rudi’s whole wheat bread)
-1 cup mashed black beans
-1/3 cup green onions (or any herb of your choice)
-1/3 cup chopped nuts (I used almonds)
-1/3 cup seeds (I used pumpkin and sunflower seeds)
-1 Tbs olive oil
-1 tsp chili powder
-1 tsp cumin
Directions:
1. saute the onion and garlic until translucent
2.  Mix all the ingredients together in a large bowl.  Add the spices at the end.
3.  pack tightly and form it into 8 individual patties
4.  Coat the skillet with olive oil and cook the patties.
5.  grab a fork, turn on some music, and enjoy!
I know it seems like a lot of ingredients, but I always try to have all these ingredients stocked up in my pantry.  Well stocked pantry (and freezer)= my best friend =)
I made some extra so that my hubby can try them when he gets home! he’s a serious hamburger fanatic so I’ll just have to wait to see what he thinks.
Hope you guys have a fantastic friday!
This entry was posted in Fitness, recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Friday!!

  1. Hi Min! I’m so happy to have a blog friend whose starting out too. Those veggie patties sound delicious so I’ll think I’ll try them out this summer. Have a great weekend!!

Leave a Reply

